We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad, not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Boston to your Saves list
Ramada Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Morrissey Blvd., Boston, MA 02122 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Delmar, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not so bad, not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a plain old motel, with pretensions. You will be hard pressed to find better at the price near to the middle of Boston, and they have parking and a shuttle service to the nearest T station. If you need a place to stay, as I did, it will work. The shuttle to the T runs on time and the drivers make an effort to be sure that people running from the station either get on, or are assured that another shuttle will be along soon. All in all, getting into downtown is fairly easy and doesn't take too long. I wish that the quoted price simply included the shuttle cost...they add it on to the room cost whether you use it or not, so they might as well just put it on the room price in the first place.

My room had a typical low cost hotel disinfectant smell that, as a person with low tolerance for chemical smells, I found barely tolerable. Otherwise the room was clean. The neighborhood is not the best, but not the worst. I was not worried about my car in the parking lot. I don't like that the supposedly secure doors into the hallways leading to the rooms are not secured (I walked in and out of a couple of them without having to use my key card). I would make sure that my door is locked at night.

The Deadwood Cafe and Brewery next door is not a place that I would want to hang out in, mostly because there is no there there. I wanted to enjoy a good beer in a nice pub atmosphere, but it is a bowling alley. What's worse is that I have had good times in some bowling alley bars, but I can't imagine having a good time in this one. I didn't even sample the beer, the place was so unappealing. On the other hand, having a bowling alley/pool hall next door might be good for some people, and that part of the establishment looked appealing, especially if you are travelling with young people.

I will likely stay there again. I will hold my nose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    222
    253
    162
    119
See reviews for
281
192
78
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Absolutely horrible. Room was not clean. Towels were not clean. Filthy carpets. Staff clearly overworked. Told one price and charged $40.00 more. ($208.00 for one night)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was looking for a hotel to stay in for 1 night for a class in Boston. The Comfort Inn (which was my first choice) had no rooms open, I simply asked the Ramada operator what other hotels were in the area of UMASS Boston. Rich replied " I can't give that information while I work here"
I find this ridiculous. I understand the whole competition peice...but really, the Comfort Inn did not have any other rooms available, yet DO NOT allow their employees to give a name of another hotel in the same area. REALLY? Has customer Service decreased while competition is increasing?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

"Southie" as it is known, was a solidly working class ethnic enclave for generations of Irish immigrants. The triple decker (often occupied by generations of the same family) is king here, except for some prime oceanfront homes owned primarily by noted local politicians, "king makers" and those who became "lace curtain" Irish somewhere down the road. This tradition has been invaded by outside yuppies during the past twenty years, but the resulting skyrocketing housing prices also brought some upgraded places for foodies and a bit of sorely needed decorum. If you rent a car, you will note the cross streets are alphabetical, the bars such as Amrein's (sp?) are more home-away-from-homes to the crowded urbanism, and the corner diners have some of the great breakfast offering around. Even if you are not "from here" - a question I was guardedly asked upon many occasions - you can still appreciate the interesting, clannish character that it this unique place offers.

South Boston has some great attractions, most notably Castle Island, which is a peaceful peninsula which is perfect for walks along the ocean without any audible disturbance from the packed surrounding urban areas. When the Tall Ships come into town this is a prime viewing venue, as some of the ships remain in full sail until just before this marker. Castle Island remains an oasis for generations of Bostonians and newbies alike. If you take a short taxi ride to this place, you will be treated to cheap, great burgers and shakes at the iconic Sullivan's at the entrance to the island. And there are some traditional bathhouses and sweaty gyms along the way, which pepper the long, slim beaches.

Unfortunately, none of these studies are vaguely approachable from the Ramada Inn Boston. I felt so very sorry for the legions of foreign and American tourists who may have used this Ramada as home base for the only long weekend they may have had in their lives to drink in the history and culture of my beloved Boston. At the ample and free breakfast Ramada provides, I met a family from Miami who had saved to show the children what the history books scan: the cemeteries where Mother Goose and the Hancock family have graves, the myth of Bunker Hill (the battle was actually fought on Breed's Hill which is a short distance away), the fabulous interior of the gold-domed Mass State House, which looks down on the acreage of the Boston Common (foundation of the modern day rallies) as well as the Public Gardens with private spaces and the Swan Boats which are great for those who want a full spectrumof the gardens without the walk, the street side lounge at the Taj (former Ritz) along the way for some respite. Then the Italian North End for pasta the various fisherman's feasts throughout the street on weekends (to celebrate the catch of the year and give thanks to the Creator), peering in the new money area of the Back Bay along Commonwealth Ave, which was modeled after the Champs-Elysee in Pris and the old money Yankee area Beacon Hill. Freedom Trail Walk, Duck Tours...ya see what I am sayin'?

Were this Ramada located next door to the Red Line, or at at-will shuttle to the Red Line, this review would be different. Boston has the country's oldest but quite efficient and functional public transportation system, and it is a shame to be at the mercy of a shuttle to get to it. Like Massachusetts taxes (high but the services more than make up for it) one gets what one pays for in some respects.

The property itself was not well thought out in design. To protect from the winter winds, airless vacuums were created that offer no air flow during this unseasonably warm summer. One faces the desert navigating through these tunnels to get to the rooms. The rooms are OK, though I was not excited to take a shower much less a relaxing bath. If you paid more than $99 nightly, go to priceline and start bidding for a property closer to town or at least more accessible to the transit system.

Room Tip: No room service nor spa, but could not submit review without filling these in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a basic hotel for budget minded visitors to Boston. They have frequent free shuttles to the subway, airport and south station which is really nice you can stay here without a car although there is really nothing within walking distance.

We paid $113 plus taxes/night for 3 nights for three teen age girls and me. The hotel is a clean but tired. The rooms are basic, 2 beds, dresser and safe with nice TV and good AC. For the hotel and room I'd give it a rating of 3.

I am raising my rating to 4 because: the pool area is nice and clean and there is a life guard which is really rare at a hotel pool - nice for sending teens to the pool. The included breakfast was very good - scrambled eggs, waffles and oatmeal in addition to the basics of bagels, cream cheese, cereal. The free shuttle to the T and the staff were all very nice and helpful and all the other alternatives on short notice were much more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for internal room overlooking the pool - another person suggested asking for one of the newer re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Way too dated of a hotel for the $140 per night we paid! Located in a seedy part of Boston only five miles to downtown.....which will take you at least 40 minutes during rush hour. Thats rush hour going at all times. The drives not the issue, the hotel smells, rooms are tiny and the bathrooms a closet with toilet and moldy tub. If it were only a 60 dollar per night room, I could understand. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed three nights in May, 2012. Breakfast is real good. Little older property but well kept.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Boston

Address: 800 Morrissey Blvd., Boston, MA 02122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Ramada Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.