We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Days Hotel Boston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Soldiers Field Road, Boston, MA 02135 (Allston / Brighton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% More Wyndham Rewards
Ranked #76 of 77 Hotels in Boston
rocky hill, ct
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2004

Don't expect much for this hotel---it was clean and good price. I took a trip to Boston in May 2004, basically only used to the room to sleep in which is what a trip is usually for. The people at the front desk were helpful, the room was nice for the price considering other boston hotels are WAY more expensive. So if you are looking for something cheap and just realy need a place to sleep, this place would be good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    55
    46
    32
See reviews for
54
30
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2004

the place was hard to find and the staff was nice, but the beds were horrible and the vending machines should have been an indication of the level of service

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2004

We stayed in a double room at the Days Hotel in Boston for two nights last week. A most disappointing experience. First of all, according to hotels, the hotel was very close to Boston University, our main destination in Boston - maybe as the crow flies, but not for visitors using public transportation.

The hotel is on a stretch of Soldiers Field Road that is not near anything but old warehouses and commercial enterprises like a skating rink and a tow truck outfit. In order to get anywhere in Boston or Cambridge, it's necessary to take the #86 bus from behind to the hotel to either the Harvard redline stop or the Cleveland Circle greenline stop.

The staff at the front desk were woefully ignorant of the local public transportation system. When we inquired how to get to Boston College, they said we should take the 86 bus to Cleveland Circle, then take the greenline into Kenmore station, switch to the B line, and go back out to BC. A quick review of an MBTA map showed that that was completely idiotic - the #86 bus crosses the B line one stop from BC. The hotel staff would have had us going all the way into the city on one line and all the way out on another for no reason.

The hotel room was OK - spacious enough and with comfortable beds, but the walls were paper thin and we could hear every sound emanating from the room next door. Our bathroom door didn't close at all, and the tub and bathroom fixtures were stained and in need of repair.

Breakfast at the hotel was a disaster. Although there were only a total of perhaps 12 people in the dining room, we waited 20 minutes for someone to take our order, it took 45 minutes for the food to come, and we didn't get some things we had ordered. The waitress kept telling us "it's a zoo here this morning!" but there was no evidence of anything unusual at all. By the time we finished our meal, other customers were yelling at the manager and calling the service "scandalous."

I would never stay at this hotel again, and would not recommend that anyone do so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2004

for the price I paid the hotel was more than satisfactory. the hotel was 1 1/4 mile from Harvard
Square and the metro a 20-25 minute walk or you can jump the bus for 90 cents and it will drop you off at Harvard Square. Theres a super market and Mcdonalds across the street. overall very pleased with the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2004

i stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and had no problems. however, i can't say the same about my stay this time. i was unable to get any sleep here and that is coming from someone who lives in manhattan! we were placed in the back part of the hotel. we overlooked the boston public works area which to say the least is an unpleasant view. even though it was the end of may the temperature dropped into the 30's at night. our room was freezing and the heat did not work. we called the front desk about it and they said they didn't know how the heat works or if it would be coming on but we could have some blankets. that was the least of our problems. as the night went on we could hear everything going on in the rooms next to us and in the hallway. we were kept up all night. people were in the hallways and slamming doors. to top it all off at 6am on sunday morning, we had tractors and dumptrucks working underneath our window at the boston works department although we were assured by the staff at the front desk when we checked in that our room was in a quiet location. we voiced our disatisfaction to the front desk and they were able to switch us into a room in the main part of the hotel where we had originally wanted a room. the walls were still thin but at least we didn't have to hear tractors and trucks. so if you are planning to stay at this hotel, request a room in the main part of the hotel. or better yet, stay somewhere else. there are plenty of other hotels in the boston area which have thicker walls and are in a quieter location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

Pros: This hotel is reasonably priced, recently renovated, and situated close to Harvard with a view of the Charles River. The rooms are also clean and well appointed.

Cons: Be forewarned, that some of the rooms may have very thin walls.
We were awakened at 2:30 a.m. by folks returning to their room next door. Although initially there was some loud laughter and raised voices, we continued to be kept awake by our neighbors who were simply talking, not yelling, to each other. We could follow and hear their entire conversation, in addition to their going to the bathroom, not just the flushing. There was a real problem with the noise dampening, or lack thereof, of the walls. We would suggest that you request empty rooms on both sides of your room, if that is at all possible.

To be fair, after we contacted the managment about the problem, they effectively notified and quieted the offending party, and thereafter reduced our room charge by 25%. Although my children finally got back to sleep about 4:00 a.m., we were awakened early the next morning by the maid vacuuming the other room next door. It doesn't pay to hang your "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2004

The hotel is clean, staff friendly, view is great if you are on the right side of the hotel, but there is so much to see that you won't be relying on having a great view. Very good price, quiet location.

The only minor problem was getting there the first time, no instructions on their website as to how to get there on public transport.

You can get a detailed map of the MBTA public transport system from the information kiosk at South station on the main concourse.

Take metro to get on the red line (outbound direction Alewife) and take this up to either Central Square or Harvard Square.

I only know the Harvard Square bus stop so I only describe that here.

From Harvard Square follow directions for the no.86 bus, once outside need to go towards the park (towards a big sign Sheraton, in the distance) and be on that side of the road.

There is a bus stop for 86 and 66 near some stone slabs which describe the history of Harvard Sq., further on is the park. The 86 is direction Cleveland Circle.

The 86 bus will take you to the back entrance of the Days Hotel, ring the bell when Mcdonalds sign comes to view, you are on Western Avenue and the hotel is just to the right (~10 minute journey). You can walk through the carpark right through to Soldiers Field Rd, which has the nice view of the river. From Central Square you can catch the 70 or 70A. (bus fare is 90c)

Once you have arrived ask for a bus time table. Alternatively you can walk from Harvard Square, it is 15 minutes, go along Western Avenue, not Soldiers Rd.!!

It is very easy when you know how!! Good luck

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Boston

Address: 1234 Soldiers Field Road, Boston, MA 02135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Boston
Boston Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.