We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Symphony Hall

Symphony Hall
301 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA (Fenway / Kenmore)
617-266-1492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 218 Attractions in Boston
Type: Symphonies, Theaters, Operas
Attraction Details
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were able to see Harry Connick, Jr. perform here. The concert was entertaining, but the venue itself was spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BSO's Symphony Hall set the Acoustic Standard with MIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

when it was built! Like the Gewandhaus (Leipzig) and the Concertgebauw (Amsterdam), the BSO's Symphony Hall provides an excellent is most charming venue to experience the best of what the musical world has to offer! Granted that it looks like a train station from the outside--even the "main entrance" is in fact a side entrance, the interior space is a "box within a box" securing it from exterior urban noise. Lovely and classical-- a delight for the music lover. CHECK for tours of the building given by faithful volunteers...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breathless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's a wonderful place to be that while listening to the orchestra will truly lure you to the musical heavens. A place to be!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Any Event at Symphony Hall is a "Special Event"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just saw the wonderful Bobby McFerrin at Symphony Hall. This is one of my favorite venues in Boston. I like to sit in the orchestra section and usually do, but for this concert we were in the first balcony right stage and the view was wonderful. The interior of the Hall is one of my favorite places in Boston. Also if you can attend an event where they have "Pops" seating you can enjoy a glass or bottle of wine and some appetizers. Boston History alive and well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never a bad seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I last was there for the annual Boston Holiday Pops concert. I always enjoy the second part with the sing along and select performances with Santa coming out.

The space is lovely and if you can, check out the building tours. I took it a long time ago and enjoyed it alot. Thankful to live in such a culturally rich city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symphony Hall also viewed

 

Been to Symphony Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphony Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.