We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No line - tasty pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Pastry Shop

Maria's Pastry Shop
46 Cross St, The North End, Boston, MA 02113-2201
617-523-1196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 92 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bakeries
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Dessert
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“No line - tasty pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The selection here is not as big as at Mike's and Modern, but what there is is great. If you love cannoli, this is the spot. They are fresh and come filled on the spot - plain, chocolate dipped, with the ends dipped or not, three kinds of filling - you can't go wrong. They have the usual selection of little Italian cookies, and several cakes, napoleons, and is,liar individual parties. Plus NO LINE ! This is amazing to me, because every one there when we were there was obviously Italian, as in They Spoke Italian. They have a couple little tables inside and out, and we were invited to sit, armed with forks, plenty of napkins. Avoid lines and visit the nice folks at Maria's - you'll eat we'll and miss about a thousand tourists!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    28
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I'm in LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went for the cannoli which was wonderful. BUT I fell in love with their amaretti cookies. I which I could of gotten the recipe from the baker. No secrets were given out though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Canoli's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I really don't know why people go to Mike's. That place is good, but you really have to try the Canoli's at Maria's. It's the best and there is usually no line! Perhaps Mike makes other things better, but if you're looking for the best Canoli, go to Maria's. You won't regret it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
242 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very authentic...great cannolis and cookies. Worth the visit, you feel transported to "Italy"...in Boston.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Makes me wish I lived in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

They have a delicious, subtly flavored traditional cannoli. I've never had better outside of St. Louis. I also almost cried when I saw their cookies and I was immediately taken back to childhood Christmases when my grandma would always have a mix of Italian cookies out at all times. The cookies were very good but not the very best I've ever had. You can tell they're probably made with shortening instead of butter which does make a difference in the flavor, but they're still better than anything in a store.

There was a very friendly young lady behind the counter and the shop is steps from the Haymarket T.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Maria's Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.