We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Appleton Studio A M306A March SPECIAL! $99/night

Boston
|
Condo/Apartment – 
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
AnnGalway...
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great location, Good Quality & Reasonable Price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

It was our first trip to Boston so not familiar with location when we booked but it was exactly as described. It is very easy to get to by following the instruction e-mailed to us by Larry Govani who lives on the top two floors. It was very easy to book and everything was confirmed by e mail with all the directions etc and I got an e mail reminder that everything was in order the week before we travelled - very good service indeed. The room is at the front of the house overlooking the street and can be a little noisy in the morning but that didn't really bother us as its very quiet at night so you can get a good nights sleep. Its a spacious room - formally the drawing room of the house - with a lovely high ceiling, and it was spotlessly clean. Theres a large fully functioning flat screen tv in one alcove.The bed was very comfortable, nice fresh linen and towels. Small table & two chairs perfect for morning coffee & toast. The kitchenette is small but very well designed with full size cooker, full size fridge freezer, kettle, toaster, microwave etc & plenty pots,pans & dishes. Because its so cheap and convenient to eat out we only used the kitchen for morning coffee & toast & and maybe a snack at night. A very nice touch was the basic essentials that were there for our use like tea,coffee, kitchen rolls, toilet rolls, washing up liquid, tea towels etc. This makes for a nice start to your first day if you arrive late at night as we did. The bathroom is small but adequate with an excellent powerful shower. The location really is perfect - about 7 mins walk to Back Bay/ South End underground station, about 10 min walk to Copley Shopping Plaza which is a massive mall of designer shops. Its about 20 mins comfortable walk to Boston Common which is so beautiful and from there you can stroll to the end of the common and you are very near Downtown Crossing which has an enormous Macey store as well as Marshalls, TJ MAXX to name but a few. There is a list in the apartment of all the restaurants, coffee shops, & amenities in the area.
Would highly recommend Appleton Studio B and hope to visit again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: There were no nasty surprises or hidden extras, it was exactly as described and actually nicer than the pictures depict.
Liked least: Couldn't find fault with it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Tallahassee
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mia
GA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Minneapolis
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Dublin. Ireland
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
trappedin...
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice but with a few caveats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures show an accurate view of the studio. The room itself is quite spacious even with the bed pulled down though some may find the bathroom a bit on the small side. Me and my friend are smaller than average females and found the bathroom space fine but anyone of average size or larger may be cramped.

We are also used to living in century homes so did not mind the cracks in the walls, the general creakiness of everything or the occasional bug that ran across the room but for others who are not quite used to living in older houses, these might be an issue. As in the description, the bed is a pull down and you will feel the springs when you sleep on it but again this did not bother us too much.

One thing that did take some getting used to was the loud air conditioner - we were in Boston during a heat wave and had the air conditioner on constantly. Also, the blinds on the windows are not great, if you need full darkness to sleep, you won't get it as the blinds will let in any light from the outside.

On a positive note, the house is in a quite and safe neighborhood even walking late at night we had no concerns. The room faces the back of the house so we did not hear any traffic either.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Loud air conditioner
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
St Louis
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful
3 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
Owner
Marie K
1 6177200522
Speaks English
Listed since : Nov 2013
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 11 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing