We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MET Back Bay

MET Back Bay
279 Dartmouth Street, Boston, MA 02116
617-267-0451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MET Back Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #421 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Newbury Street
Transit: Green Line T Stop is Copley
Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed with customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here and the bacon came out hard and dry. When queried I got attitude and was told that was how they did it. She said they could do it soft but with impression that it was going to come out raw, what happened to the customer was always right.

The restaurant was empty except for us so I was surprised to hear a customer being turned away for only wanting coffee.

The atmosphere in the restaurant even though empty was lovely refined dining, unfortunately we won't be going back

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    63
    23
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent food and service, large portions , high quality food with great people watching on the patio. Located on Ashbury St with all the upscale shops. Service was impeccable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is always great, especially their apps and burgers. The drinks are great, especially the variety. Finally, the ambiance, the people that are there, and the service is great. It's a great place to just hang out and it's in a really convenient location!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our daughter chose this place for its ambiance and from what she saw online. It a great location in the Boston’s Back Bay neighborhood on Newbury Street with many great restaurants and many places to shop. We had reservations and were seated right away ... right next to the bus station! Asked for one of the other many tables available and were told that we had to take this spot to balance the load for the wait staff. We took our seats as ordered and then waited for at least 15 minutes for our waitress to come by to take our orders. Once we did order, things just got worst! Wine was served in warm glasses and could not have been more than 3oz. in each glass; one daughter had the shell fish they were no bigger than the size of a nickel!!; our burgers came in ... one burnt to a crisp and the other one raw. And service never improved throughout the night!
I would not have a meal at the MET ever again, but the bar is beautiful mahogany bar, but unfortunately there was a lot of cougar action happening for grandparents of all ages, a sad scene it was!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Specialty Burgers, unique drink additions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

On a recent October trip to Boston, my daughter and I happened on the Met Bar, taking a break from shopping on Newbury Street. At the corner of Newbury, this appeared to be a fun brunch option on a Sunday. Unfortunately, the weather was rainy and wet, so the outdoor seating options were non-existent. Instead, we were offered the downstairs bar seating since the regular dining room was full. The menu was the same. There were a wide variety of sliders, burgers and sandwiches. I had the turkey-with brief, cranberry sandwich, my daughter had the open faced veggie. Both were delicious!! the folks around our bar had sliders which looked appetizing.

Their specialty drinks are the usual drinks with the option of skewers having whatever you want. Several of the ladies next to us had bloody Mary's with skewers that had four or five mozzarella balls, pickles and other condiments. Our waiter told us that some people ask for beef jerky. Next time we'll have a burger and a drink with some unique drink condiments. Total bill (under $30.00) with orange juice. Filling and satisfying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MET Back Bay also viewed

 

Been to MET Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MET Back Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.