We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thinking Cup

Thinking Cup
165 Tremont Street, Boston, MA
617-482-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 2,851 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Thinking Cup is pleased to be the first coffee shop in Downtown Boston to serve "Stumptown Coffee" exclusively. Stumptown, originating in Portland Oregon had been named “Best Coffee in the World” by NPR, The New York Times, Food & Wine Magazine, and USA Today. To ensure exceptional quality and freshness we obtain our beans directly from Stumptown’s roasting facility in Brooklyn, New York.Opening its doors in December 2010, Thinking Cup is ideally located just steps from the Boston Common. We are committed to providing the premier coffee experience in Boston by serving only the finest coffees, teas, and freshly baked pastries. Was awarded Best Coffee Shop in Boston by Boston Magazine for 2011.
Dammam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really great place !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great coffe and great bagels. Don't miss the English muffin with egg !!
Worm place for a nice breakfast

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    21
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A nice place that is open early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of the nicest things about the Thinking Cup is that they are open early everyday. Over Memorial Day weekend my wife couldn't find anything but Starbucks and McDonalds open before 8 am until we found the Thinking Cup. It is pretty standard fare cafe/coffee shop, hipster heaven to say the least. But the pastries are well made and the selection is good. My wife enjoyed their coffee and the atmosphere was comfortable. Go here if you are an early riser and want to experience Boston not a chain restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Me Thinks This is a Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Step through the door into this crowded little coffee shop and you are hooked. The food, coffee and teas are both tasty and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and efficient. The proximity to the Boston Commons is a plus. If you are in the area and want a break to sip, breakfast, lunch or snack, this is the spot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had a double (ristretto) espresso here and loved it so much, I went back for a latte too! Great location, super atmosphere, and good food too. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nice crowd and good lates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It was a Saturday late night and this place was happening.
There was a little but of a line but it quickly moved, thank god.

The cookies and muffins we've ordered we're fresh and tasted delicious.

We had a little but if a hard time finding a table and it was very close to the other people but I guess that's a popular spot.

I'll come back again to taste the rest if the items in the menu

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thinking Cup also viewed

 

Been to Thinking Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thinking Cup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.