We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tasting food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
500 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-2606
617-532-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Island Creek Oyster Bar has amazingly delicious food. I enjoyed the Lobster Roll and my colleagues inhaled the lobster noodle combination. I would recommend the iced tea which had a good minty taste. Get there early as it gets crowded.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    247
    80
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bergen county, nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best lobster roll and clam chowder in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

bustling atmosphere, attentive service, fair prices, nice neighborhood for walking on Commonwealth Ave

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best Oyster Restaurants in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place consistently serves up some of the the freshest and best oysters in Boston. It is larger than some of it's competition making it a little easier to get a reservation. If you love oysters, give this place a try!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pub food, restaurant prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Reasonable service but the woefully overcooked halibut ( what a crime), tasteless oyster sliders and fried clams served in a basket with a selection of shop-bought sauces all amounted to a disappointing meal. Reminiscent of UK pub food circa 1990. A shame because this restaurant's reputation is as good as it's fabulous decor and buzzy ambience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxed and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We sat at the bar before our dinner reservation and ordered a cocktail and oysters. The bartender helped us chose which oysters to order and made us incredible drinks. Our waitress at our table was friendly and brought us an order of fried oysters on the house when they ran out of fried clams. Very knowledgable of wine as well. Able to taste a couple of wines before ordering just a glass. We will return!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Creek Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.