We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRESH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
500 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-2606
617-532-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,703 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
Iselin NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FRESH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Oysters are top notch, especially LOVED the oyster slider. Don't pass that appetizer up. The salmon, scallops, and monkfish were cooked to perfect with accompanying vegs. The wait staff is superb, attentive without being overbearing. The menu is pricey, but sooo worth it. Hip, comfortable atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    284
    93
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It's all about the raw bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant is all about the raw bar. Yes there were other items on the menu and we tried some but did not find them exceptional. This restaurant had very good standards in the handling of its raw shellfish and the variety was amazing. We really enjoyed trying the different varieties of oysters.
The restaurant is noisy and very busy. Reservations are a must. Service was decent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The quality does not add up to the value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had brunch there on Sunday with a friend. While, the portions are a good size the service is a bit slow and the lobster roll is filled with onions (which is a real shame). IThe quality just does not add up to the value, too expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Come for the seafood, stay for the veggies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was lucky enough to wander into this restaurant early enough to be seated immediately--5:30--and it was wonderful! I was particularly impressed with my server's knowledge of wines (a nice wine list with some bottles you don't see very often, particularly by the glass) and his descriptions of various dishes. His comments made it far easier for me to choose an entree I would be happy with. He offered some great suggestions for sides and salads to go with the entree and they were uniformly wonderful! I highly recommend the heirloom tomato, goat cheese, and grilled eggplant salad with pine nuts. Next time I may just order two of those--it was that good! Everything I tasted was obviously fresh and presented very nicely. By the way, as impressed as I was with my server, I don't think he was an anomoly; every server I observed seemed to be just as professional and helpful. If you don't have a reservation, get there early - the place was packed on a Wednesday by 6:00 pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience - Best Oysters Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We didn't have reservations so had to wait 45 min for a table - we had drinks while we waited so It wasn't too bad.

Once seated the service was excellent, the food arrived quickly and was delicious. We sampled every variety of oyster and they were the best we've ever had - very fresh! The fried oyster sliders melt in your mouth and the angus burger was equally good, the fresh cut fries were so good we ordered an extra helping after dinner.

The drinks are well priced, as is the food and the great vibe only adds to an enjoyable evening.

A must stop for anyone visiting Boston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Creek Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.