We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston visit post snow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
500 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-2606 (Fenway / Kenmore)
617-532-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 2,994 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Boston visit post snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived late and managed to get the last of the dinner menu. The food was excellent and the oysters from the raw bar were good too. I did not drink from the wine list, but it was a good selection for by-the-glass.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sloan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The absolute BEST and freshest oysters ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm in Boston for business, knowing that I should have an incredible experience with the freshest seafood and most perfect oysters. A "local" told me about Island Creek and I went there for a business dinner that very evening. HIt: arrive early enough, because even on a Monday, this place rocks.

My business guest and I split a dozen oysters, he also had the Crab Carbonara and I had the Fluke. Wine great, cocktails great. That said, when you go, these items may not even be on the menu, which is printed daily, based upon what is farmed. When the oysters are delivered, the server tells which is which, and leaves you a list, in order, of which is which. OK, maybe that's pretty typical (it is) of restaurants where fresh oysters is a main attraction, so let's talk about the service itself. Very fluid, there is a main server and 1-2 additional "helpers," for lack of a better word, which made up the team who made sure we had the best experience ever. My business guest's phone was nearly battery drained, and the server took the phone and his charger and charged it for him during our meal.

The environment is modern/rustic...very comfortable, great lighting.

I say, " go, and go often."

I can't wait to return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socalgalx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A special experience not to be missed in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've been here twice so far and each time has been great. Fab service, great ambiance, super fresh seafood. The reason to go is the freshest oysters you'll ever have. The reason to stay is the great beverage list, great apps and entrees. Fun for groups. The only weak spot is dessert, but that's by no means a slight. They're just focused on what they do best -- fantastic farm-to-table oysters.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Brunch, Oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Island Creek Oyster Bar is a great place for brunch if you're in the Fenway area. My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for the weekend and had Sunday brunch at ICOB. They offer a large drink selection and many different kinds of oysters to choose from. I'm not an oyster guy, but my wife had a few and loved them. We ordered the lobster omelet and the quiche and both were great. We snacked on a pastry basket beforehand, which came with a variety of pastries such as a cinnamon bun, muffin, bagel and a few other treats. The price is definitely not for the struggling college student, but if it's worth it if you want a nice, elegant brunch in Boston.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Oysters in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The best selection of oysters in Boston. Simple and tasty food. Very sophisticated wine list. The atmosphere is friendly and staff is very professional. I love this place. The only problem with it is to make a reservation on the weekends. If want to go there make it in advance 3-5 days.

Helpful?
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing