We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Island Creek!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Creek Oyster Bar

Island Creek Oyster Bar
500 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-2606
617-532-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Creek Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kenmore
Transit: Kenmore
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“I love Island Creek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I came here for date night because we wanted to treat ourselves. It had been over a year since our last time here, and we knew it would cost us over $100, so we waiting a while. It was just as good as we remembered. We started with a round of oysters, so fresh, so crisp, briny and perfect. He had his favorite cocktail: Tom Collins, and I had two different beers, one German and the other from my favorite local brewery, Pretty Things. They have a great selection at Island Creek. Next we moved on to sharing a few small dishes: the gazpacho, roasted corn and something else that I'm not recalling. The gazpacho had chunks of lobster in it, quite a surprise! The corn was great, oh and the bread they serve was wonderfully warm. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    270
    84
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mosbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Service does not do food justice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went yesterday with a reservation to the restaurant, very busy very crowded. We got seated at a high table which I personally dislike but nothing else available. Our waiter changed in the course of the meal and I had to ask 2 times to get our drinks. First drink was served ( a simple beer) after starters were finished ( the oysters were a delight!). The main course that followed. Was also great, but again tried to catch the waiter for some more water. The water came with the unasked bill, which have us the feeling to get out in order to place some other clients at the table. The food was excellent however it was a ruined evening. For sure not a visit next time in Boston.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh, fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

While in Boston, I had the good fortune of dining at the Island Creek Oyster Bar. There were no tables, so we ate at the bar. They were very busy, and it took awhile for the waiter to acknowledge us, but once he did, the service was great. And the food and drinks were divine. Excellent selection of oysters, fresh seafood and turf. Prepared impeccably to showcase the flavors of the fresh ingredients, not buried under unnecessary sauces. Divine. And the bartenders are GREAT. Enough said. One of my favorite restaurants anywhere!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An Oyster Lovers Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was probably my 12th visit to The Island Creek Oyster Bar and every visit 1) the food is perfect, 2) the service is wonderful, 3) nice selection of wines, and 4) enjoyable environment. I am a lover of Island Creek Oysters and the ones I enjoy her are the best I have ever had. They serve delicious bread with a variety of butters depending on the day. Being a solo diner this time, I enjoyed sitting at the high top tables in the bar area. The servers gave me just the right amount of attention. The only challenge is parking so be prepared. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and a high end drink list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I ate here with a group of friends about two weeks ago, and I was rather impressed with both the food and drinks menus. I had oysters and the halibut, both of which were fantastic. The beer list is great too with a nice draught list and great domestic craft/import bottle list. The place gets pretty busy at night, so the servers get a little confused at times, but overall, our server(s) were very friendly and did a good job.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creek Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Island Creek Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Creek Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.