We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours

Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours
100 Terminal Street, Boston, MA 02129
+1 877-343-8257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 174 Activities in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2 hour narrated tour of Boston and Cambridge featuring 21 stops and hundreds of Boston sightseeing attractions! Free Super Duck Harbor Splash and other free bonus tours with a Premium trolley ticket! Hop on hop off all you want throughout Boston and Cambridge! Get off an Upper Deck Trolley at any of our 21 stops to shop, sightsee, and eat. Rejoin the tour at your convenience! Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours' modern luxury trolleys feature comfortable seating above traffic for the best views, climate control, and open air photo opportunities all over Boston from elevated seating platforms. Join us!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Bayport, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great way to see Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We bought a 2 day ticket with the splash down included and we could choose 1 of 4 other tours. There was a trolley stop right outside our hotel and we used this as our transportation for our 2 day trip. The splash down was fun and the captain and mate were a real comedy team. Our only issue was the second morning waiting at about 9:00 to get to Fenway for a 10:00 tour. We waited about 30 minutes and no bus had come, so we jumped in a cab. Other than that one time, we didn't wait too long for them. The drivers were very knowledgeable, but one in particular, Bill O'Brien, was awesome. Born and raised in Boston, had a great personality, lots of great stories, and we were sorry to get off the trolley when we had to. We learned a lot about the city and saved ourselves a lot of walking!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    129
    34
    26
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Informative and entertaining, great tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The tour route covered everywhere we wanted to go, the trolleys run every fifteen minutes. The highlight of our journey was definitely our guide, Corey,who offered an interesting and entertaining perspective of the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time with upper deck trolley etc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our first day in Boston -- and it was great and a packed day!! Drove to the Cambridgeside galleria to park$4 for the day when you buy your ticket with the upper deck trolley . Booth is located across the street. We bought our ticket the premium package then went on the Charles river cruise which was very nice, went on the trolley to Fenway park , back on the trolley and went on the duck splash . Found the drivers and company very helpful and a great deal!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not so Great Experience with Upper Deck Tours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We bought our tickets online using a smartphone. The company makes this option available, but then when we went to board, it was unbelievably difficult. They had not worked the kinks out yet. We sat and waited for about 20 minutes while the driver (who was really unsure of herself) tried to print the tickets with the help of someone via cell phone. Other patrons got off the bus and boarded the next bus.

Once we got going, because she was so late, she cut out part of the tour route. Once we got to stop number one, she gave us bad walking directions to get to Faneuil Hall. My sister had to go to the ticket booth to get the tickets properly printed.

This was most likely my fault, but I did not know how long the circuit took. I was trying to get my son back to our hotel for a nap, and from stop 1, it took about 2 hours, which made for an unmanageable toddler. The driver/guides had conflicting information, and some of it bordered on offensive/racist.

It was one of the more expensive companies, and yet, the buses were constantly late. They are supposed to run every 15-20minutes, but on day two, we waited for 40 minutes. It was pretty bad. Save your money. Take a cab where you need to get, walk around (get some exercise), and take a few ranger-led tours (FREE!) though the national park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan S, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi hleahh. Our apologies that the tour wasn't up to snuff. We recently developed a new ticketing system which in the vast majority of cases is an improvement for our customers, cutting wait times and making the whole ticketing process easier. However that appears not to have been the case when you visited. In addition, except on very busy days in the city, when all tours are delayed due to congestion, we strive to be prompt and to provide frequent service at all our stops. And finally we expect all our guides to be courteous, helpful, informative and entertaining for each and every visitor we carry. Again, we're sorry that the tour you took with us fell short. Please come back at any time and ride our trolleys or duck boats again, on us, to see how truly superior our service is. Contact me personally at admin [at] bostonsupertours [dot] com to set up a tour for you and your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Way to See Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did the 2 day hop on and hop off package which also comes with a bonus tour. And honestly, we couldn't enjoy it enough!

For the amount of money each ticket costs, they offer way more than any other company. Including a super duck tours.

We did the hop on and off trolley for the 2 days which was super convenient had over 20 stops in all the main parts of Boston. And for our bonus tour we did the Charles River cruise, which gave us a different perspective of Boston from the water.

It was so much that we didn't even have a chance to do the duck tour portion of the package.

The bus drivers were well informed, and helpful.

I can't even imagine not doing a tour like this when you visit Boston.

You can see all the different stops and different photos on my blog and how kids enjoy it as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.