We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Home To Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
W Canton St at Montgomery St, Boston, MA 02118 (South End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“From Home To Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A little gem in the midst of the vibrant and cultured Boston. The accommodation is comfortable with a traditional and yet also a contemporary touch and feel to it. The location is perfect for exploring the city. Jane was a hospitable and an unassuming host who offered excellent tips and advices when asked.

Thank you Jane for sharing your home with us.

Regards,
Tommy and Ben

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We chanced upon this B&B having baulked at the prices of Boston hotels and were very glad we did. We were welcomed by the perfect host who hepled orientate us and gave suggestions of sights and activities. Throughout our stay we felt incredibly welcome.The house is lovely and in an excellent location - you really dont need a car staying here. Dont be put off by booking through the bed and breakfast agency this is a brilliant place to stay and I thoroughly recommend it.

UK couple.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as a young couple visiting Boston for the first time. It is a bit off-putting booking through the 'Bed and Breakfast Associates Bay Colony' website rather than directly through the B&B, however it is worth the hassle.

The B&B has a great location in Southend on a quiet street but close to the action (restaurants etc.). It is also in reach of all the Boston Common and Back Bay areas. The hosts are very welcoming and accommodating and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They are also very knowledgeable about Boston and provide good tips.

The B&B is very clean and comfortable. The bedrooms (only 2) are located at the top of the house with comfortable beds and towels, shampoo, soap provided and a bathroom on the same floor. Wifi is also provided. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, cereal, muffins and freshly squeezed orange juice!!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and cannot fault it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at 1863! The hosts were great and I enjoyed the company. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Hynes convention center which was very convenient. The continental breakfast was good and having the muffins in a baggy allowed me to take it with me for a snack during the day! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This B&B is in a fine old brownstone in the historic South End district, in a quiet street an easy walk to the Back Bay subway or to Copley Square. Jane and Ben are wonderfully friendly hosts, while leaving you to do your own thing. Breakfast is a great selection of fruit, cereal, muffins, laid out ready to eat in the dining-room. A couple of warnings: bathrooms on each floor are shared (I didn't find this a problem, as there are only 3 bedrooms altogether), and the stairs are many and very steep, difficult to manage if you have heavy luggage. No obvious restaurants in the immediate vicinity - I ate in Copley Square area.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for only two days but we absolutely enjoyed our stay. The location is in a quiet residential area close to all historical sites and attractions in Boston. Good restaurants are within walking distance. The house is charming and full of character. The breakfasts were nice - fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, and delicious muffins.
Our hosts, Jane & Ben, were very nice and friendly people and we certainly enjoyed their company. We highly recommend 1863 House B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast was a perfect place to stay in Boston, very close to public transport, some places even in walking distance. We immediately felt very welcome and enjoyed talking to the hosts during our (healthy!!!) breakfast and learned a lot about Boston and the American way of life.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast

Address: W Canton St at Montgomery St, Boston, MA 02118
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These delightful hosts have been residents of their centrally-located South End neighborhood for 27 years. They offer three guest rooms and lots of local knowledge! Their brick bow front Victorian townhouse was built in 1863 and features a new gourmet kitchen with a deck overlooking a secluded garden for quiet continental breakfasts. Each bedroom has a double antique brass bed with an antique quilt, a desk, and a decorative fireplace. The two fourth floor guest rooms share a bath with tub and shower. The third floor room shares the hosts' bathroom that contains a claw foot tub/shower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1863 House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.