We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ames Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Ames Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Boston
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed four nights - considering the location and that there was construction outside, the external noise was minimal - problem was internal noise. Agree with other comments on banging doors and elevator noise - particularly bad when housekeeping starts working the floor in the morning (I was on business and they woke me up even with my having appts and getting up at reasonable hours).

Overall - the room was clean and comfortable, appreciated that the windows opened for some fresh air - gave it a European feeling that I don't often find at US hotels. Very easy to get to most locations by foot or public transport - even a rental car location just blocks away for excursions. Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you for your stay and for your review! Our location really is the best, everything is so close! You can be anywhere in Boston in a matter of minutes. I’m glad that you liked the windows too! It’s so great to get fresh air into your room at the end of a long day, isn’t it? Please let me know when you’re coming back to Boston at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com so that I can handle your reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    240
    85
    35
    15
See reviews for
96
418
60
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

As of today the Ames is the only hotel I'll use in Boston.

The other reviews are spot-on, but I would stress three things. First, the hotel staff is exceedingly well trained with a strong focus on customer service and courtesy. Better than I got at the Four Seasons. Second, the location is beyond convenient. We could walk to all our meetings and for others, both cabs and transit are available right outside. Third, the building is beautiful. The Morgans group did an impressive job preserving the natural beauty of a very old office building.

I'm really surprised that its ranking on tripadvisor isn't higher. I think it's the best.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
I love it! Thank you very much for your awesome comments about our team and our fabulous design! I can’t wait to welcome you back again and again. Please contact me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com when you are back in town. You have a home in Boston now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Ames was a new experience to me. having been a loyal client to the Morgan group for many years, I finally made it to theior new property in Boston last week.
A wonderful exoerience; for me as a seasoned business traveller but also someone who likes e great 'treat' I found the Ames to be of outstanding quality, and the rooms and facilities to be world class.
Strong recommend!
Ulf Lindgren
Professor of Strategy & Dean Lorange Business School
Zurich

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you Dr. Lindgren! It’s great to know that you enjoyed our new addition to the Morgans family! Hurry back! Please contact me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com so that I can arrange everything for you. Have safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Ames. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely friendly, especially John, one of the greeters/bellman and the bartender, whose name, unfortunately, we did not remember. Our room was immaculate, as was the hotel itself. It was also, very conveniently located to everthing-the Freedom Trail, Quincy Market and the subway.

My only complaint would be no coffee pot in the room or in the lobby, but the restaurant provided coffee every morning, without charge, which was nice.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends, and in fact, already have.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you for recommending us, and for taking the time to review us! I’m thrilled that you had a great time with us, and can’t wait for you to come back! Contact me when you or your friends are back in Boston at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Great new hotel in Boston - perfect location near Boston Common. Beautiful rooms and nice amenities in the room. Room service menu is creative and delicious. Staff was hugely attentive and on top of things. The bar area can get a bit scene-y, so you probably don't want your grandmother staying here. But its a great choice for a solo or couple traveling.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you very much! I hope you’ll come back to us soon, and when you do please let me know at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com and I’ll take care of your booking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I had a wonderful 3 night stay. Staff were very friendly and attentive, without being obtrusive. The room was well appointed with lovely finishes- the mini bar was extremely well stocked. The hotel is close to the Marketplace, Faneuil Hall etc. and within walking distance to pretty well everything I wanted. The hop-on hop-off bus tours stop at the front door, very convenient. The 'hash' dishes on the breakfast menu are highly recommended...who doesn't want to start their day with 'lobster and leek'? And, it would have to be the best breakfast coffee I've been served in the States.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Thanks for your comments! Next time you come back you’ll have to try the sourdough pancakes...so yummy! Let me know if I can help you with any future bookings at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Ames Hotel was the highlight of my weekend away to Boston. With a stylish interior it is perfectly located across the street from State T station. The bar/restaurant was packed every night we were there with hotel guests and the after work crowd. The fitness centre, although small, was perfect for my daily cardio workouts. The hotel room was so luxurious and comfortable - I couldn't wait to return to the hotel everyday!

A special thanks goes out to Nina and Charles for making my fiance's birthday a memorable day. I cannot express how grateful I am for their efforts.

I will definitely stay at Ames if I return to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Happy Birthday again to Mr. Ewok! I so thrilled that you and your fiancé enjoyed your weekend with us; it was so fun to plan it with you! Whenever you and your soon-to-be husband come back (honeymoon maybe?), please let me know so that I can take care of you again at nina.sweet@morganshotelroup.com!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ames Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ames Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.