We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ames Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Ames Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of the Ames Hotel is amazing. You can walk to nearly everything, and the Quincy Market is a short walk to pick up a meal. We had a great waterfront view.

The hotel has the best workout facility I have seen on a smaller property.

The front desk employees were always cheerful and helpful. While we were there, my son got his fingers caught in the elevator door (totally his fault), and the staff was there with an ice pack, band-aids, and Tylenol within 30 seconds. They asked about him every time after that and won him over with attention.

There is nothing not to like about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for staying with us & for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    240
    85
    35
    15
See reviews for
96
418
60
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked this hotel thorough their internet site, for my 2 kids and myself. When I did the booking deluxe room seemed okay for us. But as we arrived to our room there was no extra bed for my son.
I talked personally to manager and he told me they gave me what I booked. And they ran out of extra beds, they can only put sheets on the floor.
I paid 500 dollars to sleep on the floor and it was the last time for me to stay and even hear the name of this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. After following up, it appears you booked a Deluxe King for 1 adult & 2 children with no other requests until you checked in at 5:30p. Unfortunately, as we were completely sold out (the city of Boston was actually sold out for 25 miles on that Saturday night) & we were out of rollaway beds because of all the guests that had requested them ahead of time, we couldn't offer you an option to upgrade nor even a cot. We understand that you feel that we should anticipate the needs of our guests better, but when you book a room with 1 bed for 1 adult & 2 children & don't request an extra bed ahead of time we assume that you booked that room because its what you wanted. Without receiving a request for a room with 3 beds ahead of time, which we don't even have at this property, there was no way we could know that you really wanted a room with 3 beds. We do apologize for any inconvenience this situation caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our first time in Boston. We didn't know where to stay. My son & his wife stayed at the Ames and recommended to us. Well, it exceeded our expectations. The staff was fabulous and very helpful. Dana, Angie & Taka were so kind and helpful to us during our stay. The hotel was located in walking distance of almost everything. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. If I had to complain about anything, it would've been the noise level. We could here everything outside. Other than that, it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We'll pass along your comments about Dana, Taka, & Angela. We're sorry the noise from outside bothered you, but next time you're in town request a high floor & we'll try & get you as far away from the street as possible. Thank you so much for staying with us & we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were kind of put off by the mixed reviews but decided to spend two nights at the Ames because of the great location.

It aspires to be a trendy hotel: hipper-than-thou clientele, stark uncomfortable lobby, modern room furniture, etc.
The strangest surprise was the clear glass floor-to-ceiling wall that separated the bedroom from the bathroom. It provided an excellent view of the sink and toilet through the open shower. Fortunately, there was a semi-opaque curtain you could close. But, really?

The Good:
The location is perfect. You can walk to too many sights to mention.
Our room was spacious and bright thanks to beautiful, arched windows that provided a great view of the Old State Capitol across the street.
There is a 24-hour fitness center as well as a business center.
There’s free Wi-Fi.

The Not-So-Good:
Some of the reviews we read complained about the service as rude. Most of the front desk people were helpful, We did, however, encounter some clueless rather than rude experiences. When we asked someone who looked like the guy in the Sprint commercial (“It’s pronounced Gor-DON”) how to get to the closest “T” station he said something like, “Walk down Tremont to Park”. Huh? Since that was no help, we asked him to show us on a map. Instead of a street map, he pulled out a “T” map and circled the station. Rude? No. Kind of clueless? Yes.
There was a stocked refrigerator with extra room, however, the refrigerator didn’t cool anything.
There was no ice bucket in the room and we couldn’t find an ice machine.
There was only one drawer for clothes (other than a small drawer in each nightstand).
The walls were thin. Our neighbor watched TV until 3 AM and we could tell which programs she was watching. Perhaps that’s why the hotel provided ear plugs (we found them in one of the nightstand drawers).
The “T” runs under the building and we could hear and feel the rumble whenever a train went by (our room was on the 4th floor).
Parking was expensive. We valet-parked because it was easier but did notice there is a less expensive garage across the street.

The Bottom Line:
If location is the most important factor in choosing a hotel in Boston and you don’t plan to spend much time there, the Ames is a practical choice. If not, I’d look for an alternative. If you stay at the Ames, check out Archie’s (located in a walkway near the hotel) for a quick, inexpensive breakfast. No matter where you stay, make sure you make your way to Mike’s in Little Italy for a great cannoli!

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and could hear and feel the "T" every time a train went by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us. We're sorry about the issue you had with your in room refrigerator & we hope you brought it to our attention so we could have someone look at it. Ice is always available upon request. We're sorry your stay wasn't better, but hope you give us another chance the next time you're in town so we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was chosen by friends whom we were meeting for a few days of touring Boston. On arrival, we were impressed by the ambiance of the hotel (contemporary features in a stately building)and the helpfulness of the staff. Our room on the fifth floor was high enough to miss most of the traffic and subway noise - ambulance sirens being the major exception. The room was spacious and well-appointed, and afforded a picturesque view of the Old State House. Once we ventured out, we came to appreciate the true value of the hotel's location: T station across the street, in the center of the Freedom Trail, two blocks from Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market, three blocks to waterfront restaurants like Chart House and Legal Seafood, and lots of shops and cafes across the street. The lounge off the lobby is newly opened and still suffering some growing pains: service ranged from over-the-top to bored & ignored, live music was too loud to enjoy a nightcap, has not developed its outdoor patio, and would benefit from hot breakfast offerings and gourmet coffee drinks.

Room Tip: Low numbers (xx1-5) offer nice views of the Old City Hall and the skyline of the Banking District; h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We'll pass along your comments to the King Street Tavern as well. Thank you so much for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As others have raved, the location of the Ames cannot be beat. Easy walk to the major historical and tourist sites. Super convenient to the airport via the T Blue Line, with a stop less than a block away. My king room in this historic building was beautiful with high ceilings, large arch window, neutral color palate, and high-end, contemporary furnishings and fixtures. OK, doorless shower design not the most practical (tip: turn knob to hand held bar before turning on water so you can adjust water temp before getting all wet). Bed was comfortable; WiFi connection was good; decent work out room. Breakfast/bar area looked forlorn so I just went to Starbucks down the street for my morning coffee. Overall, a great stay in a pricey town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us & for the review, we certainly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in a double deluxe room for four nights. The location is tough to beat. You can walk to just about everything. The T stations are very close as well. The room was as large as any room that I have had in Boston. Everything was very clean. The view of the Old State House was amazing. The bathroom was large and the tub/shower were great. We didn't have to wait for n elevator once during our stay. The people working at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. Our rate included valet parking. That was the clincher in deciding which hotel to stay in. I would recommend the Ames Boston Hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the Old State House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for staying with us & for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ames Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#32 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#51 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ames Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.