We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ames Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was chosen by friends whom we were meeting for a few days of touring Boston. On arrival, we were impressed by the ambiance of the hotel (contemporary features in a stately building)and the helpfulness of the staff. Our room on the fifth floor was high enough to miss most of the traffic and subway noise - ambulance sirens being the major exception. The room was spacious and well-appointed, and afforded a picturesque view of the Old State House. Once we ventured out, we came to appreciate the true value of the hotel's location: T station across the street, in the center of the Freedom Trail, two blocks from Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market, three blocks to waterfront restaurants like Chart House and Legal Seafood, and lots of shops and cafes across the street. The lounge off the lobby is newly opened and still suffering some growing pains: service ranged from over-the-top to bored & ignored, live music was too loud to enjoy a nightcap, has not developed its outdoor patio, and would benefit from hot breakfast offerings and gourmet coffee drinks.

Room Tip: Low numbers (xx1-5) offer nice views of the Old City Hall and the skyline of the Banking District; h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We'll pass along your comments to the King Street Tavern as well. Thank you so much for staying with us & we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    216
    78
    32
    14
See reviews for
88
392
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As others have raved, the location of the Ames cannot be beat. Easy walk to the major historical and tourist sites. Super convenient to the airport via the T Blue Line, with a stop less than a block away. My king room in this historic building was beautiful with high ceilings, large arch window, neutral color palate, and high-end, contemporary furnishings and fixtures. OK, doorless shower design not the most practical (tip: turn knob to hand held bar before turning on water so you can adjust water temp before getting all wet). Bed was comfortable; WiFi connection was good; decent work out room. Breakfast/bar area looked forlorn so I just went to Starbucks down the street for my morning coffee. Overall, a great stay in a pricey town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us & for the review, we certainly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in a double deluxe room for four nights. The location is tough to beat. You can walk to just about everything. The T stations are very close as well. The room was as large as any room that I have had in Boston. Everything was very clean. The view of the Old State House was amazing. The bathroom was large and the tub/shower were great. We didn't have to wait for n elevator once during our stay. The people working at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. Our rate included valet parking. That was the clincher in deciding which hotel to stay in. I would recommend the Ames Boston Hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the Old State House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for staying with us & for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel! It is a beautiful historic building in a great location for tourists- so many things are within easy walking distance (the harbour ferries, restaurants, parks, shopping etc). I heard that on the lower floors people can sometimes hear the subway, but as we were on an upper floor, noise of any kinda was not a problem so be sure to ask about this. The breakfast menu (which is not included in the hotel price) is only continental- I prefer a larger selection including warm meal options. Normally, I wouldn't have mentioned this but it is very difficult to find a place for breakfast in downtown Boston (which is VERY strange). The only thing I really missed is a swimming pool and/or a hot tub which to me is an important factor in selecting hotels- but sadly, these are often missing from many older downtown hotels. Rooms are wonderfully modern in my favorite minimalist/clean lines style. Even the provided shampoo and conditioner is amazing. The hotel staff, as pleasant and inviting as they were, forgot to send up a second bath rob after we asked them but it turns out we didn't really need it in the end so we didn't remind them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level to avoid possible noise. Plan and search ahead of time for a breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! If you're looking for a full breakfast next time, swing by the desk & we'll be happy to point you in the right direction. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was my second stay at the Ames Hotel Boston. I can only repeat what I wrote in the first review: very friendly and helpful staff, spacious, clean, and quiet room, great central location, excellent value for money and highly recommendable. I like the style of the hotel, the bright design, the non-stuffiness of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the wonderful review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and just came back. We couldn't have been happier. The room was elegant, stylish and comfortable. This is boutique hotel rooms at their best and contrary to many boutique hotel properties, we had lots of room. The service was available and quick to respond and acknowledge but never in our face.
You simply can't beat the location as a central home base. Every T line is close and you can easily walk to all the Freedom Trail sites, the North End and Beacon Hill's sites. The Back Bay and South End are a quick few stops down the T. Truly couldn't have been better...
We wished all hotels had the warm sophistication of the Ames. Very highly recommended...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us & for the wonderful review, we appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked the Ames for five days. Wanted a hotel close to the sites Boston has to offer and this place checks out. Upon arriving, we had the door open for us (yes, they have a doorman), concierge/front desk was prompt and efficient. By the way, when you walk in and before you make a left look up. The room was a deluxe king and it's the size of a small studio apartment. Open the closet you will find a sturdy and bright orange umbrella, fridge, microwave and safe as well as other things for purchase. The bathroom was spacious (look in the trash bin for some art). Breakfast is available for $15; however, we booked the rise and shine package that gave us vouchers everyday of our stay. The selection is simple: muffins, croissants, yogurt, cold cereal, etc... As for proximity to sites, across the street and above the orange line metro (T) stop is the Old State House, round the corner and you're at Faneuil Hall. Close proximity to Freedom Trail, Boston Common, and TD Garden (15 minute walk up Congress Street). Staff is beyond friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Front Office Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us & our location. Thanks for your review as well, we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ames Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ames Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.