We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ames Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Ames Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern but lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I have mixed reviews about Ames. First of all, it has a beautiful and modern design with a little historic charm. The staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and accommodating.

Pros: room was beautiful (stayed in the 1 bedroom deluxe suite). Central location, easy access to just about everything, close to airport and the T.

Cons: no coffee in the room or lobby! How can a hotel not have that standard? The restaurant/bar is closed, therefore no room service. When I approached the front desk about coffee, they quickly had a coffee maker, etc. sent up to the room. I was happy until the next day when housekeeping had to have seen the coffee maker but did not bring new cups or pods. We had to ask the front desk for more, housekeeping never replenished the entire stay! We found a partially consumed bottle of wine in the mini bar (offered by the hotel), not sure if it was from the people staying in the room prior or not. Again brought to the attention of the front desk so that we wouldn't be charged.
I'm not sure if I will stay here again. Nice hotel but I expect coffee without constantly asking for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    241
    85
    35
    15
See reviews for
96
419
60
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rooms are stylish, and the product in the bathrooms is nice. That's about it for the positive. As for the rest, it's hard to understand how a hotel of this caliber and price could have no restaurant open. No coffee in the rooms either, and the front desk is not terribly helpful about suggesting places to eat nearby. There's also a bottle of water for sale in the room for $8. Slick.

People should also be aware that the comments on here about noise are legit. This hotel is loud, especially the T (I think it's the T), which rumbles by starting around 6am. You've been warned.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was excited to try the hotel. Loved the aestetics, heard the bar was a nice place to grab a drink. The rooms were small but well appointed. I got in late and had early meetings the next day but when I went to sleep there was some vibration in the room due to what I assume is underground transportation. I was shocked. I called down but the front desk said there was nothing that they could do. While the staff was wonderful and the location great, I will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for a fun girls' getaway, and we really enjoyed Ames. The hotel was beautiful and literally right off the Freedom Trail. We asked for a room on an upper floor (I had read reviews about the subway noise) - we got the 12th floor and experienced no issues. My only complaint: their website states that breakfast is included, and when we arrived, we discovered the owner decided to close the restaurant for some unknown reason. They reluctantly gave us a discount as we expected breakfast to be included. The overall service was just ok, nothing that would prevent us from returning - but it wasn't exceptional, like you would expect at a boutique location. Nevertheless, we enjoyed every other aspect of our stay and would go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for business. It's trendy - dark corridors, dark bathroom and then very bright white room with a black wall behind the bed. I liked the look of the room and the big windows.
The bed was comfortable.
I didn't like noise. I could hear people in the room next to me and maybe also above me at times. The train (T) rumbles underneath the floor and despite been on the 4th floor you hear the trains and feel them vibrate past. So if noise annoys you don't stay here.
Didn't like the lack of a complimentary water - the Voss beside my bed was $8 which is ridiculous (& I'm here on business).
Boston is expensive and I think I'd take my chance finding somewhere else at $350+ a night then this place. There restaurant was closed and their bar wasn't open either last night but the desk was very helpful in recommending a nice place to eat. off out now for breakfast and to check out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a girls weekend at this hotel and LOVED it. Rooms are uniquely designed, super clean and comfy. Great little bar in the lobby. Did not have time to check out the restaurant but the location is prime. Plan another getaway with hubby in the Fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

i stayed here 9/10 nights and this hotel is to be avoided. having travelled all over the world, I have had better experiences in sub saharan Africa.
The worst thing of all is the attitude of the staff. When i called to ask why my room had not been cleaned at 3:30pm, i was told "we are full tonight and kinda busy"...great response for a $400/500 a night room. The cleaning service was even better(take a look at the photo). Shirt arrived wet, creased and unwearable. Arrived to be told the restaurant and bar had been closed down and only option was over-priced food in the room and water by the bed for $8. This place is sooooo bad.
The shower also takes a while to warm up and at busy times has no pressure.
Avoid this place at all costs.
Collegues stayed here too and hated it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ames Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ames Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.