We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little boutique hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ames Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Picnic & Pedal Package
Ranked #35 of 77 hotels in Boston
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little boutique hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a girls weekend at this hotel and LOVED it. Rooms are uniquely designed, super clean and comfy. Great little bar in the lobby. Did not have time to check out the restaurant but the location is prime. Plan another getaway with hubby in the Fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    201
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
77
376
58
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

i stayed here 9/10 nights and this hotel is to be avoided. having travelled all over the world, I have had better experiences in sub saharan Africa.
The worst thing of all is the attitude of the staff. When i called to ask why my room had not been cleaned at 3:30pm, i was told "we are full tonight and kinda busy"...great response for a $400/500 a night room. The cleaning service was even better(take a look at the photo). Shirt arrived wet, creased and unwearable. Arrived to be told the restaurant and bar had been closed down and only option was over-priced food in the room and water by the bed for $8. This place is sooooo bad.
The shower also takes a while to warm up and at busy times has no pressure.
Avoid this place at all costs.
Collegues stayed here too and hated it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May in the middle of a trip to the States.

Let's start with the positives. You can't fault this hotels location. Right on the Freedom trail and walkable to all the main Boston sites. Not far from train station or airport and right on the T train for easy travel to outer parts like Harvard. The doorman were friendly and always opened the door and the front desk staff were pleasant enough (dealing with several regulars disgruntled over the restaurant closure) and one gave us some good restaurant recommendations, although sent us to a bar that was closed!

Where this hotel really fell down was its failure to live up to our booking. We had booked through expedia for two nights including breakfast, but when we arrived we were informed the restaurant had closed down or was shut presently. Instead of offering us a partial room refund so we could choose where we wanted to go for breakfast, we were instead offered vouchers to the nearby Starbucks!!! While some might consider Starbucks a great way to start the day, we didn't feel it was adequate compensation. The answer from front desk staff was 'would you prefer a voucher to Dunkin Donuts'! Instead of arguing we took the starbucks vouchers and thought we'd at least try. But what we didn't know was the voucher was worth only $10 (for two people - which obviously didn't cover two drinks and a breakfast sandwhich!). When we checked out and told the front desk staff we were out of pocket and that $10 wasn't really compensation for two booked continental breakfasts they just shrugged their shoulders. On top of that because the starbucks was busy in the morning we had to get out breakfast and return to our room to eat. While I have no issue that the restaurant was closed we should have been communicated to before arrival and also offered options for compensation. I also chose the hotel for two reasons - breakfast was included and because it was a Morgans Hotel - where we'd had great experiences in other cities.

Now onto the room. The bathroom was interesting. Not much bench space and a glass fronted shower with a curtain on the other side that opened onto the room - but was controlled in the bedroom and not the bathroom.

The bed was ok, but as its an old building the walls aren't that thick and therefore we could hear til quite late the TV of the person in the room next door. A few knocks on the wall and they eventually turned it off. While its on a quiet street any noise from the road was heard during the night.

Overall we were disappointed. First of all because the staff didn't seem to understand a customer should be provided what they are paid for or at least properly compensated for the inconvenience. I'm not sure I'm alone in think that a $10 voucher to Starbucks is an adequate alternative to a top hotel continental breakfast. While the rooms were adequate, they weren't soundproofed or well designed.

Also I filled out the survey post stay from the Morgans Hotel Group - and over three weeks later still haven't heard anything from the hotel manager about my comments on the stay and questions over the restaurant closure and compensation for lack of included breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was in an ideal position for us. The hop on hop off trolley stop was right next door to the hotel. You could walk easily to the start of the Freedom Trail tour as well as some very good restaurants.
We were warmly greeted by the doorman and by the receptionist. The hotel is very modern and we found our room to be of a very decent size. As per other reports, the hotel is very noisy; you can hear the rooms next door as well as the street noise. Perhaps it would be wise for the hotel to have their windows treated for noise levels.
Unfortunately the restaurant at the hotel is closed and it would be lovely to have a bar with food on offer.
With regards to the mini bar, you could take out their supply and replace it with our own without being charged. Do not that there is a fee for using wi fi.
Overall we enjoyed our time at Ames. The staff were very good.

Room Tip: Uncertain as we were on a high floor but felt with the noise level that we were near street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Small boutique style Hotel centrally located in Boston convenient to both restaurants and tourist destinations. Can be difficult to find if you don’t know where you are going as there is no sign in front. Rooms are on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Rooms are very modern and not your traditional décor. Lots of traffic in the area so you will get the noise from the street but I think this is common just about anywhere within the city. Very comfortable bed with a large screen TV mounted on the wall. The Concierge, Doorman and Front Desk were all helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and any other help we needed. Room service was always prompt and never had to ask for anything. Only complaint I had was that this Hotel’s Restaurant was not open – not sure as to why. Would have been nice to have a place to eat or get a drink while in the Hotel. One of the best Hotels I’ve stayed at.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a great location - close to the North End's selection of Restaurants and historical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very modern-contemporary style hotel, but a very comfortable place to stay. The building is old, but did not feel that way once we stepped into the hotel. The room was clean and cozy. Great location for visiting Boston as well. Nearby subway stations and walking distance to numerous historical sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Located in a historic Boston building, in the heart of downtown Boston, right next to Fanueil Hall and Quincy Market. "T" stops just across the street. We really loved the boutique and minimalists rooms, and were lucky because the noise does not hurt our sleep any day. My only complaint is the lack of restaurant and breakfast at the hotel (restaurant recently closed), which does not change my opinion about this excellent hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ames Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#50 Business Hotel in Boston
#51 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ames Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.