We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, worth the trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panza

Panza
326 Hanover Street, Boston, MA 02113 (North End)
(617) 557-9248
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Panza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Fleet St.
Transit: Haymarket (Orange); North Station (Orange, Green); Aquarium (Blue)
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, worth the trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Authentic north end atmosphere, food consistently good. We've tried several restaurants in this area, Panza is the best. Chicken and veal panza is exceptional, but nothing beats the spring roll appetizer. Wished they served coffee at the end of the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    97
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little Italy Boston Style”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Made a reservation (unheard of in Boston when we lived here),also one for parking. Nobody bothered to mention that we were walking into the street fair of St. Anthony,couldn"t get to the parking garage,and after being told "we're running a little behind" stood in the street for an hour. A parade went by, parties were seated who arrived after us.When we were finally seated it was at a miniscule table directly next to the crowded, noisy kitchen.The food was decent at best, the wait staff inattentive, I would have liked to try a second glass of but she never returned until it was time to bring the check. The main ingredient of my main dish was SALT, nearly inedible.
Reminds me of the old days back at Joe Tecci's but there at least the food and atmosphere were great.
No wonder I left Beantown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We walked into the north end of Boston for lunch. And we were not disappointed. My wife had veal Marsala. The veal was so tender she could cut it with a fork. Her only complaint was that the sauce was a little sweet. I had pasta with a carbonara sauce & it was wonderful. The panchetta was perfect the sauce creamy and savory.
I would go back just to have the bread that was served along with the meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very good meal for a very good price!!Pasta al dente,seafood delicious and the sevice very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I have visited Panza twice and both times have not been disappointed. The service has been great, the food even better. Dinner for two including a bottle of wine came in at just $60 which is pretty low in the north end. The one catch is that they don't serve dessert which forces you to hunt it down somewhere else nearby but given the location you won't have to walk very far to do that.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panza also viewed

 

Been to Panza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.