We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Boston

Save Saved
You added W Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rockport, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Hip place with extremely convenient location, close to everything. kids loved the fact it was so close to new berry st

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    237
    102
    42
    25
See reviews for
120
283
60
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I was told about about this place by couple of my colleagues , and this stay was pleasant. The service was OK, as not many staff were not able to pinpoint area locales. The rooms were decent sized and overall location was nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Pros: Best location for theaters, service from staff exceptional, rooms very modern, comfy beds and very clean. Cons: Very poor lighting in bathroom; very difficult to apply makeup. My biggest complaint: I ordered a Grey Goose martini in the bar; it was VERY watery. Thinking it had sat in the shaker a bit, I asked for another...same thing. My husband ordered a Ketel One martini; same thing. A bar at this level and price ($16) should not water down the liquor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful winter's night in a 12th floor "Wow Suite" recently at this hotel and can't wait to go back. The Wow Suites are in corner rooms, so there are windows to the city on two complete sides, but with room-darkening curtains that do a great job of giving privacy when needed. Other than that, open them up and enjoy the view of the city at night. The decor is modern, trendy and comfortable. On the living room side, there is seating for 6-7 people, a beautiful wet bar, a large flat-screen TV and a smashing Bang & Olufsen stereo system -- bring your CDs and invite a few friends up! There's a small dining table graced with orchids, and a plush, soft shag-style rug underfoot. Super comfy, fun, and showy.

On the bedroom side, there's a lovely king bed with deluxe bedding, a well-appointed desk with internet access and anything you need to get some work done. A curved couch with soft pillows sits in front of the windows. There's a second large flat-screen TV in there. Bed was super comfortable and the room was very quiet - had a great night's sleep. Great task lighting on the bed (reading lamps attached to the headboard on either side) was a big plus.

The bathroom is very big, great jacuzzi tub, and a marble stall shower. I really appreciated the lighted magnifying makeup mirror.

There's a second bathroom over on the living room side -- this, plus the ability to completely close off the bedroom from the living room really make this space suitable for entertaining - especially if there are two of you, and one has company while the other wants to get some rest.

This is a very "hip" hotel and while the staff is younger, they still give great, attentive service. Complimentary coffee is offered in the lobby in the morning but I'm a tea drinker so they fixed me tea upon request. Concierge Jennifer was delightful and very helpful.

This hotel is smack dab in the middle of the theater district. We had theater tickets and it was a very quick walk to the theater from the hotel. The Wang and the Shubert were within sight of the room - this is a great place to stay when you're seeing a show.

Breakfast the next day was hearty and delicious. We can't wait to go back for another night on the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This was a special trip to cheer up my Mom after the death of my sister. I called the hotel a week prior to ask for early check-in. I explained the situation and that I wanted my mother to be comfortable. When we checked in I discovered that they comp us their best room on the top flooe. The room was stunning. We had views of the entire city of Boston. The beds were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The staff went out of their way for us. Breakfast in the next morning was awesome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

W Boston claims that the "W" means WOW and that their goal is to "wow" you. True to form they did wow us! Because we were celebrating our anniversary, I contacted the hotel directly prior to arrival to make a room request and advise them of the special occasion. Upon arrival in our room we were greeted with champagne and chocolate-dipped strawberries (at no charge). While the room requested and promised was not available the first night they upgraded us to a beautiful, corner suite for the rest of our stay. Additionally, they "comped" us a free breakfast and some drinks at the bar as a gesture for the initial let-down. The rooms are nicely appointed in a modernistic style. The front desk staff is very friendly and takes a genuine interest in answering your questions and providing directions to various sites. The hotel is centrally located in the Tremont section near several theaters and within walking distance of Chinatown, Boston Commons (park), Cheers Bar (from TV series) and Newbury Street (upscale shopping district). Moreover, it is within easy walking distance (7 mins.) of the Subway system (Bolyston Station) which proffers economical access to the entire transportation network of Boston. Getting to/from the airport by subway/train is easy involving one change (at Gov't Center) and takes about 30 mins. if no delay. We highly recommend this hotel because of its commitment to customer service, great rooms and central location. Small issues for some may be that the outside street noise can be heard within some rooms - particularly if there is a lot of traffic or noisy crowds outside (which may occur on Friday and Saturday nights). Also, light sleepers may be bothered by the low-level, ambient hum from the HVAC vent/ductwork that may exist in select rooms. Finally, be forewarned that using the mini-bar will add up as prices are not cheap! As STARWOOD properties go - this is a very good one!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

In the past month I have visited the W Boston twice for leisure. In November my husband and I stayed for a weekend after Thanksgiving visits with family and we returned December 17th with a friend visiting from Colordao. I grew up in the Boston area and when I return from NYC for visits I often take the least expensive hotel I can find. Having not lived there for 5+ years I was surprised to see that the W was built near the theatre district. This was not the best area growing up but has really made huge changes. The check in was thorough and quick both times and the staff super-friendly. The W is known to be a bit of a scene so check-in happens amidst the hotel lobby bar which is always packed.
The rooms are really nice. We stayed in a King and a 2DBL. The showers are not behind a closed door so be aware if you are traveling with friends and want privacy. The usual W products from bliss are always a treat. The linens were lovely. Our room had a huge window but tons of drapes if you wanted it more dark. Room service is oferred until very late at night. The W has an Acura car svc that has somewhat random hours but they will take you within 3 miles for free. Otherwise cabs are easy to come by.
This is a great location to get to the South End, Back Bay or downtown. TIP: If you are bringing a car avoid the W valet ($40/day) and park across the street in the Transportation Building garage for half the price.
We felt very safe here. The staff was super-attentive. We didn't have to switch rooms when we added a night on both occasions. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.