We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the W......but noisy @ night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Boston

Save Saved
You added W Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hadley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the W......but noisy @ night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I really like the look of the W and the room was modern and I like that look. The staff is excellent, especially Leonardo the "door man". Market Restaurant is fantastic.
The bummer about the stay is that there are 2 bars nearby and on the Saturday night we stayed we woke up a few times due to the noise on the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    228
    97
    41
    23
See reviews for
104
264
59
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We have been to the W in New York just for drinks many times and thought we would go to Boston and actually stay at the hotel for a short weekend for the bar, modern amenities and great service. Well, the bar was great, the room was cool and modern(although theTV cable reception was iffy) but the service was not good. We arrived on Saturday at 4:30 and the room wasn't ready. After 4 hours on the road from NYC I was ready to sit on the bed and watch TV. When asked, the front desk couldn't tell us when the room would be ready so we went to the bar for a drink that we had to pay for, no credit for the room not being ready at 3:30 at check-in time. After about 40 minutes I had to go back to the front desk to find the room was ready and she had forgotten to come get us. It was Valentines weekend and everyone seemed very flustered. They told us they would bring the luggage up shortly. An hour later we called down to remind them to bring it up for us so we could go to dinner. It was a last minute truip so we didn't have dinner reservations anywhere. The concierege was too busy (with more imortant guests?) to give us any real attention. He sent us on a wild goose chase for random unspecified restaurants on Nuberry St. in 20 degree weather. The next night he tried to do the same thing until we pressed him for details. We also called down for extra toiletiries which didn't arrive until hours later because we already went out to dinner.

The theme seemed to be "we are sorry but we are very busy". If you can't handle capacity something is wrong. The hotel was nice but without good service it is still just a room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This is not so much a review as a coment on a previous review. The review titled "Better Options In Boston" struck me as a bit odd. They mentioned staying on the 19th floor. Well thats funny because the 19th floor is part if the Condo development.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

On our first stay at the W Boston, we were warmly and expertly greeted by Lenny at the curb. All the staff, from the curb to the room were friendly and professional. We really enjoyed the beautiful, modern, clean design of the hotel and our our room specifically. The terminology took a day or so to get used to (call "wheels" on your room phone instead of the valet, and find "wired" on the mezzaine level, instead of the business center), but it was cute, so we went with it. They also roll up the floor mats in the public areas mid-day to go from ones which say "good morning" to "good afternoon". It was walking distance to many things like shopping, certainly theatres if you're coming for any show, and easy to get their by car of the highway. I wish that we could have seen better pictures of the rooms from their website, because I might have splurged for the studio suite versus a roomy king room. Just getting square feet measurments from the central reservationist didn't give perspective.

Now, the lobby bar is a happening place come 6pm, and the perfect place for drinks with friends before a show or a night out. The cocktail waitresses are smoking hot in their littel black dresses (It's OK, I'm a gay guy), and just lend to the young, hip, sophisticated feel of the place at night.

I'm sure we'll be back, because they are opening a spa and a nighclub in the hotel (they opened in Oct '09). I'll probably spring for the suite during a spa weekend when everything is at our finger tips.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

I was on the 12th floor yet the noise from the street was incredible and the room was freezing - maybe the windows haven't been fitted properly. The lighting is ridiculous - bring your own torch for the gloomy beyond words bathroom. Room packed full of rubbish available to buy at inflated prices but bed is very comfortable. The breakfast service in Market is RIDICULOUS. It took 20 minutes to get a menu and then another 45 to get a plate of cold scrambled eggs. The maitre d seemed demented, constantly unavailable and then when found, a little dazed with a strangely spooky fixed smile on his face.Rabid doormen hunt in packs around the entrance yet don't open the door - what's that all about? Food smells invade the lift making it a rather stomach churning experience to go anywhere. Luckily it's only a short walk to Legal Seafoods. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

I brought my wife to the W for the week of our anniversary. It was perfect. We've stayed at the Park Plaza in the past, but I figured I'd try the W since it was new. It was a great choice. The room was amazing. Super modern, beautiful AND comfortable. There was a huge shower AND a big tub, so while I showered my wife was able to soak in the tub. The rooms were good sized too, much bigger than the W in NY (which cost twice as much). The bed was more comfortable than ours at home, with a nice thick feather bed under very soft sheets.
We spent some time in the lounge too, also very modern, a great place for a cocktail (even if you're not staying at the hotel).
All of the service staff was excellent and friendly. They know what they're doing. It was quite impressive without being in your face. A perfect balance.
It's also in a great location. We took a short walk to Newbury Street and did some shopping, went to Chinatown for some Dim Sum for lunch, very well situated. We even ended up going to a show at the Wang Theater right across the street.
We didn't get a chance to eat there, but the menu look incredible . . . next time. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We live in the suburbs of Boston and decided to check into the W for a weekend of fun in the city. Unfortunately, this W Hotel does not live up to all the recent hype or the other W/Starwood properties. Our room was located on the 19th floor and was a bit disappointing. The bathroom area was small with extremely poor lighting and limited counter space (shower was large w/ great water pressure). The desk in the room was loaded with all kinds of "paraphernalia" for purchase - including a bottle of wine, a baseball hat and a bottle of water for $7. Who wants all of that stuff cluttering up the top of the desk?? The room was adequate in size - however, certainly not a room I would want to spend more than 2 nights in. In addition, the outside noise from the streets below was definitely noticeable. We heard the constant buzzing of fire engines, horns and sirens. It's important to know that the hotel lobby turns into a nightclub in the evening with huge lines of W-wannabees waiting outside. The health club was a plus with state of the art equipment and free weights. Overall, it was a pleasant stay ~ however, I will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.