We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold issues in guest rooms. Staff and General Management of Hotel Lack Interest in Making Issues Right. D-” 2 of 5 stars
Review of W Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W Boston to your Saves list
W Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Providence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mold issues in guest rooms. Staff and General Management of Hotel Lack Interest in Making Issues Right. D-”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After arriving at the hotel, I was happy with the appearance of the hotel. It is a fairly new property and the lobby area is nice with a lounge and sitting area near the registration area. I was happy with the friendly attitude of the desk clerk.

I checked in to my room and was pleasantly surprised with the room, minus the fact that the bathroom has a wall that is completely open to bathroom/shower area. Rather odd. I was traveling alone, so it was not a big issue for me, but if friends (and not a couple) are traveling together it may pose an issue if you are not comfortable with showering in front of your traveling companion. Just ask to make sure there is a secluded/private bathroom area. All and all I thought he room itself was nice.

I was in town for a get together and decided to come in a day early and stay at the W. I did some errands and went back to the hotel for a nap. The rooms are very loud from foot traffic outside the door. Constant banging of doors by cleaning staff makes it difficult to rest. I understand they need to clean rooms, but they do not need to slam every door upon their exit. For a new building, they should have rooms that are a bit more soundproof, or staff that is a bit more quiet.

I retired for the night and awakened to quite a reaction on my face, due to the mold growing in the vents in the bathroom. My eyes were so swollen from the mold that I had to go to the drugstore to get medication. It was just awful. I ended having to miss my gathering that day. I checked out in the morning and upon checking out explained the issue to the desk clerk. He asked me to send him photos to his personal email, which I did and that he would have a cleaning person check into the issue in the room and take care of it. He told me he would have a member of management contact me later that day. I never received a call from the management team, but received an email request to review the hotel. I took them up on their offer and that is what prompted a response from the manager - not the fact that the room I stayed in had a vent covered in mold. I find this to be poor poor customer service. The manager then told me that they never received my email explaining the issue. Even if they hadn't received my email, I had explained the whole situation tot he clerk upon checking out. So, there was no reason there wasn't a follow-up by the management team. Unacceptable. Granted this isn't the nicest hotel in Boston, but it was still over $250/night. There are far better hotels for less money, but the W supposedly prides themselves on customer service. Not the case with my situation. The manager/supervisor then contacts me again and says he didn't receive the photos I had sent a second time. So, they were sent again and I finally (several days later) get a response from him (Matthew) telling me that they are sorry for what had happened and that it couldn't possibly be the mold as they have strict guidelines in which they follow to prevent mold (obviously not true, due tot he fact that there was an abundance of mold within the vents in the bathroom.) Again, unacceptable.

The bottom line is that there is a mold issue and more importantly, there is a management/correspondence to customer issue problem.

If you don't have an allergy to mold, more than likely you will have no problems with the vents, but if you do have an issue at all, more than likely it will go unsolved by management or treated as if it isn't important enough to warrant a response for a couple of weeks.

I booked this through Priceline (and still $250!) so, maybe they don't treat Priceliners the same as they do a regular guest. Who knows. Just hope for the best and maybe you will have a problem-free stay. The hotel itself is very nice. Maybe if the staff all get on the same page with customer issues, it would be an all around great place to stay,

Room Tip: Request room with a private bathroom. Some rooms have a wall that looks into the bathroom from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello there, I will contact you via email later today and Iook forward to resolving this matter ASAP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    239
    102
    43
    25
See reviews for
121
286
60
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I’ve been a SPG member since 2009 because of a couple stays at a few Starwood hotels here and there, but none of the stays convinced me to be a loyal to their line of hotels. However, this hotel experience has changed that forever. Once I was hand delivered my complimentary, delicious red-velvet cupcake and hand-written, custom-tailored note, I was HOOKED. I immediately called SPG customer service to have them re-activate my SPG account, because I am booking with Starwood as much as possible from now on (and I am hoping my experience will be just as good or greater in the future as well).

I found no problems with the room design; the bathroom was chic and private (although I would have loved a large tub), and the master lighting controls were easy and simple to use and not bothersome at all. In fact, I applaud them for the “vanity” area right by the bathroom entrance. There is a mirror with perfect lighting for applying make-up (real important for cosmetic buffs like me) and a groovy shelf that will hold all your products while you beautify yourself. Better than leaning against the sink counter trying to get a good look at yourself in the mirror. I don’t think people realize there is a mirror RIGHT THERE in there face that they can use for these purposes. The best of all was the bed. The comforter was fluffy and soft, and for a split second my brain was tricked into thinking the hotel mistakenly placed a waterbed instead of a mattress in my room (no exaggeration).
Considering the area, outside noise was minimal, and my room was facing the main street (which was hustling and bustling that Friday night). I was also on the 8th floor. The loudest sound I heard were sirens, they were kind of annoying, but what can you do? Tell them to shut up? There are plenty of restaurants, cafes, boutiques down the street so there are plenty of things to get yourself into without going to far off.

Only thing that irked me is that they had no rooms available when I checked in at 1pm and was noted that I would receive a call when a room is ready. I never received the call. Since I do a lot of red-eye flights, meaning often arriving in town early, having to wait to check-in when I just want to pass out on the lobby sofa is just a big downer for me. Luckily I stopped by the Thinking Cup and got myself a latte and that perked me up and decided to return an hour and a half later just to do a progress report. What do you know, my room was ready! Unless it was just good timing on my part, I would have really appreciated that call.

Oh, and internet is $15/day. Please please please do something about this. I wouldn’t even mind, like $10/day. $15 is ridiculous.

Thanks W Boston, for making my stay lovely and enjoyable! See you next year!

Room Tip: Of course, there's always the corner room recommendation and high floors should help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Wow! Awesome review. Let's do it again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights in Boston to attend a concert at the TD Garden and selected this hotel. Staff were accommodating, hotel was very clean, new with all the amenities including the Bliss Spa on site. Bonus being the Bliss products in room (value of $14.00)!! Garage parking an additional $47.00 per night with valet parking only. Although we didn't visit the bar or restaurant, on Sat evening the bar on site is extremely busy. No sound travels beyond that area though. Hotel is located on the edge of China Town with few good restaurants in the area, requiring walking or cab to other areas. Although a nice hotel, I would select something closer to the market and other attractions, especially in winter as walking is very cold. Cab to Italian area and Garden $8.00.

Room Tip: 4th floor was great, gym on same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for the solid review. In terms of the neighborhood, next time look no further than the W Lounge or our restaurant, Market, you won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I have to take a moment to share how special the time was last weekend in Boston and how much I wanted to thank the W Hotel for such excellent hospitality and service!

Once again, every single staff member from the valet to the Concierge, to the front desk staff, to the Bellhops, and housekeeping; Were pleasant, helpful, supportive and exuded positive energy!

I especially appreciated the wonderful chocolates that was sent to my Suite to commemorate all of my stays at the W property's since be a SPG member!

Because your property is located in my hometown where I grew up, I will always have a very special place in my heart for you your staff, and the hotel.
It gives new meaning to the term; Homecoming.

Please know how deep my appreciation is for everything that you did to make my stay unforgettable!!!

Best Warmest Regards;
Mitch
SPG Lifetime Platinum

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for the awesome review, Mitch! I'm so happy that our Talent welcomed you home and took care of you with our brand of contemporary Boston hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Second time in Boston in the past few years and I liked the location of the hotel. It's one block the the Boston Common right in the heart of the theater district. From the hotel everywhere in Boston is basically walkable. Rooms are a little larger than most standard hotel rooms and are very clean. W prides itself on being trendy which in my opinion is somewhat of excuse to substitute fashion for quality but overall the hotel is an excellent choice for a quick trip to Boston. Also, the hotel is extremely dog friendly so if you're traveling with man's best friend you're in luck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for the solid review. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I will never stay at a W Hotel again - especially the W in Boston. The staff is useless, the rooms are moderate at best, the walls are paper thin, the food is below average and the service is terrible. I was traveling on business with my colleague after escaping the devastation of Hurricane Sandy. We were looking forward to some sleep but couldn't get any due to the blaring music from the frat-like atmosphere in the room next door. After contacting management at 2 am, the music was turned off for a few moments then it resumed. We called again and the same thing happened. We were offered the opportunity to move into a new room at 3 am (REALLY?!) but declined the inconvenience. When we addressed the situation with the powerless young person at the front desk, she told us that the hotel followed protocol and that there was nothing they could do. As part of the Starwood brand, they should be ashamed of themselves.

Some other things to note:
-No local magazines in the room (had to go to the front desk)
-Front desk couldn't tell us where the best local shopping was
-They ran out of coffee and tea three times during our two-day conference
-They offer you points if you don't have your room cleaned (it's "environmentally friendly')
-They charge guests for Internet access
-There are no coffee makers in the rooms
-The hair dryers are cheap and useless
-Even on the 14th floor you can hear tons of noise from outside at night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Gina, thanks for the constructive feedback. I'm glad that we are working towards a resolution off-line and look forward to maintaining your loyalty to Starwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The walls in this W are paper thin. I was traveling with my colleague on business to a conference at this hotel. We were not able to sleep well at all because of the nightclub that was happening in the room next to ours on the 14th floor. We complained but it made little difference. Management wrote us an apology note. Exhausted on our 2nd morning and facing a 6+ hour drive home, we discussed some type of reimbursement with the powerless front desk staff who stonewalled us and went into the back room to talk with the manager. Manager later came out but didn't address us at all. Strange customer service for a luxury hotel. Will never stay at an overly image-conscious W again - definitely not worth the cost, stress & exhaustion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. And please accept my apology for the excessive noise. We do everything in our power to mitigate noise from inside and outside of the hotel but this is not always within our control. Thank you for your business and if there is anything I can personally do for you please don’t hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
#34 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.