We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations, wonderful, relaxing and very comfortable place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off rate GTII & GTIII
Ranked #1 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
1 review
“Beyond our expectations, wonderful, relaxing and very comfortable place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This unique houseboat has a fantastic view of downtown Boston and the harbor. The innkeepers are very friendly and kept going beyond the norm. One day of our trip was spent on a charter fishing expedition, where we caught several large striped-bass; Artie expertly fileted the fish for us and the innkeepers voluntarily supplied us with extras, including letting us borrow their grill, to make a fantastic FRESH fish dinner.
The room is very comfortable, including a tempurpedic bed. And each morning we enjoyed drinking our coffee on lounge chairs on the deck, watching boats and ducks float by. We can't wait for our return visit next summer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
227
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utica, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The location was perfect. The owners were great. Everything is as advertised. It was unique to experience Boston and then relax on the pier in front of your room and enjoy a night-cap while looking at the Boston skyline. Do not bother renting a car. There is free transportation from the airport to the pier and then everything is within walking distance or $1.70 to cross to downtown on the water shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amybythebeach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Green Turtle. It was absolutely wonderful...breathtaking views, a perfect combination of comfort and luxury, and impeccable service from the owners who will treat you like family! The experience of sleeping (in one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in) and staying on a houseboat is incredible. Our homemade breakfasts were fantastic as well. The location was great and we took the ferry over to Boston each day, which is a less than 10 minute walk from the Green Turtle. I can't imagine staying anywhere else and I hope to be back--soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Absolute luxury and the best service in the greatest location. We were able to walk all around the historic Charlestown Naval Yard and into the North End for fine Italian dining, but the best was just sitting in the deck chairs sipping champagne, enjoying the sea breeze and watching the boat traffic. Total relaxation!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. Everyone couldn't have been nicer. The innkeepers were fantastic. The accommodations were excellent, they thought of everything. We lucked out with beautiful weather and could have sat outside all day. We took a quick trip into the North End for dinner, and then we hurried back to enjoy our peaceful view of the harbor. It was so relaxing and comfortable. . I almost don't want to recommend it because I would like to keep it our secret! We are already looking to booking it for next year and the years after that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Great room, great people, great service, clean, fresh, comfortable, fantastic views and very cool to be right on the water with all the harbor activity right in front of you. Everything exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

You cant believe how relaxing the Green Turtle is. It is beautiful inside and out. The bed was so comfortable and the room perfectly decorated, you'll never want to leave. I loved watching all of the different boats going by. The best part though was the relaxing nature of the boat. I will go back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. We offer complimentary parking. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list