We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just loved it. Loved the location, loved sleeping on a boat, loved the breakfasts, loved the ease getting from the marina into Boston and loved staying on the Green Turtle 3. We stayed with our two boys (15 &16) occupying both rooms. Jon and Karen are simply great Inn keepers and Jon's stories could fill a review on their own! Trying to avoid the superlatives about Green turtle you'll read in other reviews a different thought - staying here gave us chance to buy a bottle of wine and order a pizza rather than eat at a restaurant. Having eaten out on so many nights of this holiday eating pizza and drinking wine in Boston harbour was a pleasure beyond words. It's more than an Inn, it's more like a rental home/boat that serves breakfast. For the time you're there it's like it's your own boat. We don't just want to go back sometime, we want to go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
256
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything about our night aboard the Green Turtle was just excellent! Although it was our first ever B&B overnight, it's very easy to identify a quality experience. Jon and Karen were very welcoming people and went above and beyond to make our stay a great one. They were very flexible and welcoming of our 16 month old daughter as well. Thank you both! The suite we stayed in was excellent, and thanks to a tour Jon gave of their new yachts, I can confidently say that YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THE GREEN TURTLE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In short: this is an outstanding B&B!

In full: this is an oustanding B&B, run by lovely people, who obviously care a great deal about their guests, in a great location, with possibly the best breakfasts I've ever had the pleasure of being served!

We were in Boston for four nights: three at Green Turtle and then one at a considerably more expensive, 'boutique', down-town hotel. The Green Turtle was better in every respect.

Firstly, hats off to John and Karen, the proprieters. They couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful or friendly. On day one, they gave us a city map and talked us through the best ways of getting to all the places we wanted to see. There wasnt a question we had that they could answer and they also gave us a few very good restaurant recommendations too! Throughout our stay there was never any request too big or too small for them to deal with, and they were always interested to hear how we were getting on.

Secondly, the location. Where else do you get to have breakfast / evening drinks right on your own river side decking, with ducklings swimming next to you, and a prime view of the Boston skyline, right on your door step? Superb! On top of that, you get easy access to a free shuttle bus into town, you're close by the river taxi, or you can walk around the marina and right on to the Freedom Trail. You really couldn't design a better location! Oh, and if you have trouble sleeping (like I do) then the very gentle rocking (and it is very, very gentle) of the houseboat will nurse you off to the dreamiest sleep you could hope for!

And thirdly, the breakfasts. These are definitely the best breakfasts I've ever had the pleasure of being served in any hotel or B&B in the US or Europe, including at some four and five star hotels. The proprieters listened carefully to our likes and dislikes on day one, asked us what time we'd like breakfats to be served (directly to us on our riverside decking, I should add), and then brought us a different dish, beautifully prepared and presented, every day, at the time of our choice. That is first class service in anyone's book - oustanding!

If we're ever in Boston again, we'll stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I stayed aboard the Green Turtle II for two extraordinary nights in this unique bed and breakfast. The accommodations and amenities (which included cozy queen sized beds with luxurious linens, fluffy towels and a delicious homemade breakfast delivered to our deck) far exceeded our expectations. The yacht was not only gorgeous but clean and offered amazing views both day and night. From the moment we stepped foot on the dock, Karen and John made us (and my children) feel at home. They were warm, friendly and full of good old fashioned hospitality! We enjoyed our weekend so much, we are already planning our next stay with the Green Turtle!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

An amazing location that's very quiet for being so close to the activity of Boston. The view of the city is priceless. It was perfect for a romantic get away. Karen and Jon greet you like friends from the past and truly treat you as such. Just sitting on the dock relaxing would have been worth it. To have all the attractions of the city literally a few minutes away at your fingertips invites you to explore and enjoy all that Boston has to offer. It was a truly unique experience and we couldn't be happier with our choice. A jewel hidden in Boston!!! Everybody should try it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After spending several days in the hustle and bustle of Boston site seeing, my sons and I were cheerfully greeted by Jon and Karen for what we now refer to as "our 2nd vacation". We concluded our final 2 days of vacation staying in both Green Turtle I and III. We were pampered both nights with the million dollar view of the harbor and sounds of the birds and gentle waves of the river. The hospitality shared with us was better than we find in the south! Karen and Jon made us feel as if we were old friends. They made it so convienient for me on the day we left, ensuring that I didn't have to worry about anything. Thank you for creating such a lasting memory of our family trip! I will be back with my husband - hopefully soon!

Room Tip: All the accommodations are amazing - you can't go wrong with any option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you want to be close to everything while enjoying a peaceful, tranquil, relaxing, absolutely heavenly place to stay, this is IT! We took a water taxi from the airport - fun and FAST! Karen and Jon welcomed us on the dock like old friends. Our room was comfortable and filled with treats, a complimentary goodie basket, Karen's homemade granola, yogurt, freshly ground coffee! The highlight of our whole trip was watching the moon come up over the Boston skyline from our lawn chairs on the gently rocking dock, while enjoying a glass of wine. The comfortable bed and wonderful home-cooked breakfast the next day completed A Perfect Stay!

Room Tip: You can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. We offer complimentary parking. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.