We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Turtle, Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Green Turtle I
Ranked #1 of 46 Boston B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Green Turtle, Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2011. I was pleased with the hotel location along Boston Harbor. Jon and Karen (owners) made me feel at home. It was possible to walk everywhere, yet also close to the water taxis, and ferries. This was my first time in Boston and I definitively will be back.

Room Tip: Floating Hotel, fun, relaxing and it moves
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
254
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the end of May. Water taxi from the airport dropped us right at the door and we were met by Jon & Karen who took time to show us around the fantastic B&B. Very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Wonderful breakfast which you can enjoy on the deck watching the boats passing and with an unrivalled view of downtown Boston. Cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and hope we can return soon!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A unique experience on the edge of Boston. Easy to reach by car or Water taxi. The owner was on site to greet us when we arrived and parking was reserved for us close by. The Inn is both unique and luxurious. We fell asleep each night to the rocking of the boat. We have never felt so safe and comfortable when staying in a big city. The Inn is close to the ferry, bus routes, tours, and the North End of Boston. We were well taken care of and the owner was available if we needed anything and we loved the breakfast she brought each morning. This is a beautiful place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Green Turtle Floating Bed & Breakfast. The inn Keepers, who live on their sailboat at a different slip in the same marina, were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was tasty and filling and served hot each morning at our desired time. The view at sunset was great and sleeping on the water was very relaxing. It's worth knowing that although the location is scenic and quiet, it is not convenient. The nearby dockside restaurant, "Tavern on the Water" is dirty and a bit unfriendly. All other restaurants are at least 30 minutes away by foot or transit. We had trouble describing the pick-up location to taxi companies because we couldn't provide a precise street address for the dispatcher to punch into their GPS system.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

The Green Turtle is awesome!
The rooms are spotless clean and lovely decorated. You feel like home away from home. Karen and Jon are wonderful hosts. The warm welcome and their way of pampering is outstanding. We would rate this B&B A++....+. Thank you Karen and Jon we will be back some day.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I surprised my husband with an overnight on the Green Turtle for his birthday and it was fantastic! We had a fabulous time. Karen helped me make it so special. The birthday cake and banner were an unexpected bonus. It was the perfect location. What a fabulous B & B. Karen and Jon are not only great innkeepers but fabulous people! We can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This unique floating B&B nestled in a modern marina at the old Charlestown Navy Yard puts you within a few yards of the venerable USS Constitution and you are really right in Boston Harbor. All the harbor activity from cruise ships, working tugs and even tankers are passing by your window. Despite all this activity it is peaceful and quiet while sitting in a deck chair enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun is setting on the harbor: it just tops off your day. You don't need your car once you arrive; just take the water shuttle into Boston's bustling waterfront for $1.70 and you can hook up with all the public transportation or walk to many of the favorite attractions. The accomodations are terrific: nice and clean, lots of privacy, very attentive hosts. It's one of those unique getaways that you will put on your list to do again.

Room Tip: Reserve early because there are only two units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Pier 8, at the end of 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. We offer complimentary parking. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.