We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time for $5!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harpoon Brewery & Beer Hall

Harpoon Brewery & Beer Hall
306 Northern Ave., Boston, MA (South Boston)
617-456-2322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 175 Activities in Boston
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Activities: Beertasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please come and visit the brewery! Rich and Dan started Harpoon to make great beer and welcome beer lovers. That founding spirit lives on every day as we pour pints in the Beer Hall, take visitors on brewery tours, and share our passion for beer with fellow beer lovers.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great time for $5!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My husband and I took his parents for an afternoon venture to the brewery. We did end up driving because getting there by public transportation is a bit much (train transfers and a bus if it's too cold to walk).

We did have a hard time finding the entrance at first, but after that everything was just fine! We each paid $5 for a tour of the brewery, and ended up with a lot more beer than $5 buys you. We sampled a bunch of different ales, porters, stouts, and IPAs while on the tour and then at the end.

The guides were great - very knowledgeable and friendly - also quite humorous. It's better than other brewery tours I've been on, so I'd definitely recommend it to others if you enjoy good beer!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    80
    18
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I love Harpoon and I looked forward to going here. 1st, it was a little hard to get to. 2nd, when you are out front and see the huge sign, there is no way telling you how to get inside. Around the side of the building and into a hallway & stairs you come into a small store area that adjoins the brewery. I was told a tour would happen in about 2 hours. I bought a t-shirt and left. Not a must do unless you really need a nice t-shirt.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Festivals are a great time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Harpoon hosts a few "festivals" (read: massive parties) during the year which are a lot of fun. Check out their website for details on timing.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“$5 Tour - 20 min Open Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is such a fun place to visit. Everyone is so nice, you get to have a quick tour and then open bar for all of the different Harpoon drafts. Definitely recommend coming to Southie for the afternoon to visit this place!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Weekend Tours are Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We took one of the earlier tours on a Sunday. Love that they limit group size to keep the numbers small. Tour was fun and informative. Particularly liked the opportunty to try green beer. Best part was the tasting at the end...they take good care of you!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Brewery & Beer Hall also viewed

 

Been to Harpoon Brewery & Beer Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpoon Brewery & Beer Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.