We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rolls and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Hook & Company

James Hook & Company
15 Northern Avenue, Boston, MA (South Boston)
+1 617-423-5501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,820 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery
Neighborhood: South Boston
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Rolls and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was in Boston for a meeting and found this place while on my way to the North End from the seaport area. Place is not much to look at and seating is very limited but the lobster rolls are better than good. So, just walk in, get in line and order what you like. In a few minutes you will have just what you ordered handed to you by a friendly staff member. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. As long as you are not looking for atmosphere you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    63
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll I had so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

OK, I have only been in Boston for 7 month, but I had to eat a lot of lobster roll. And the one from that little shack was by far the best. It is filled with big chunks of lobster, not too much sauce. You really taste the lobster. And the crew is really friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big Chunks of Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We came last year in September 2012, and it was the perfect way to end our trip. We picked up lobster rolls as they were just closing and it was delicious. As others have mentioned, definitely a take&go place.

Buttery bread.
Big chunks of lobster.

The most simple and basic lobster roll you can get, but they do this really well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Looked like an 8in roll. Full of lobster meat. A bit heavy on the mayo. But, it tasted great. Parking limited on site. Limited seating both inside and outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful lobster and crab rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family ate here on Sunday, June 9th at 11:00 am. We did not have to wait at all to order from the small menu. My brother and I had the lobster rolls, while my eleven-year-old had a crab roll. All drinks (sodas, teas, water, etc) are $2.00. The delicious lobster and crab rolls had a very generous amount of meat in them. My son said it was one of the best sandwiches he'd ever had. He also enjoyed looking at the huge lobsters and crab in the store. We ate outside at the picnic tables, which was perfect for lunch. I would love to eat here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Hook & Company also viewed

 

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Hook & Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.