We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but sure was fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Hook & Company

James Hook & Company
15 Northern Avenue, Boston, MA (South Boston)
+1 617-423-5501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 2,814 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery
Neighborhood: South Boston
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not fancy but sure was fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

They probably do more business selling fresh fish than the lunches but that's what we loved about the spot. There are only 4 small tables so don't expect a lot of room or fancy. We had a lobster roll, bisque, and chowder. All were great! We enjoyed sitting and watching as the fresh lobsters came in fresh from the boats and customers came in to take fresh lobsters home with them. Great little find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    163
    52
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you think that the only 5-star rating should be for places with museum-quality interiors and ambience, then please mentally downgrade this rating to 4-stars . . . I happen to factor "value" and "taste" very highly in rating a restaurant. I don't care how elegant the decor is, if the food isn't outstanding, what's the point? Conversely, as long as I know I'm not going to a place conducive to marriage proposals, I don't want to sacrifice the quality and taste of the food for atmosphere. Folks who rate James Hook as though it should be compared to a fancy-schmancy restaurant that would serve AT BEST equally outstanding food at 3-4 times the price are missing the point . . .

With that rant behind me, here's what you get at James Hook: the best possible lobster (I like the lobster roll but truly love the boiled lobster) you could possibly eat at a really reasonable price. What you don't get is fancy decor and mood lighting. It is literally, biologically impossible for any restaurant, no matter how much they are willing to pay (and thus charge to their customers). James Hook transfers the lobster directly from the fishing boat into their live-tanks. This provides the maximum possible freshness, and therefore taste. Many restaurants purchase their seafood from James Hook. At best, a restaurant might be able to equal (but not surpass) JH by sending someone to the docks who has not just a cooler, but an oxygenated live-well in his/her vehicle for transporting the lobster back to his restaurant.

You might think this is a nuance not worth considering, but anyone who has eaten corn harvested just before cooking vs. a few hours before cooking vs. a day or two before cooking knows what I'm talking about. Unlike beef or pork, which actually inmproves with aging, lobster rapidly loses its freshness, and lack of oxygen is a prime culprit.

So . . . if you want a romantic night out with fantastic seafood and are willing to pay a pretty penny for it, there are several great places in Boston. But if you want the best lobster you've ever had for about 1/3 the price and don't mind a steveadore atmosphere, then JH is the place to go!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, not much of a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was an interesting stop, it is basically a great seafood market that also happens to sell a meal or two. Had a lobster roll, clam chowder and a scallop cake, all of which were fantastic. For a place operating out of what appears to be an ATCO trailer this was a fantastic meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lobster Roll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had the best lobster roll ever at James Hook & Co. in Boston, a small seafood wholesaler in a small trailer down the block from the Amtrak station; the lobster roll was overflowing with fresh lobster on a lightly toasted roll. There is no ambiance here and only a few tables and chairs, so If you want a fancy-pants seafood restaurant, don’t go here. But if you want the best lobster roll in Boston, James Hook is the place to get it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The lobster roll....AHHH...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

LOVE....this was seriously a dive, but the lobster roll...AHHH...
My sister and I stopped in for a quick bite on the way to Cape Cod and I'm glad we did. We elected to get the regular sized lobster roll and share it....I could have eated the whole thing, so it's good we split it up prior to starting to eat it as one of us may have lost fingers....
I enjoyed the lobster roll so much that we returned the next day, on my way to the airport, to get another one. I just had to have another taste (this time a full lobster roll) before I left Boston.
The spot is bustling with people not only grabbing lunch, but buying fresh lobsters, crabs, soups, etc. The tuna looked amazing (and sushi grade) as did everything else. Knuckle meat...yum...I wish it would have saved nicely in my luggage.
This is a must visit in Boston...I have been on a quest for the 'best' lobster roll in Boston and I may have found it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Hook & Company also viewed

 

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Hook & Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.