We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hill

Beacon Hill
Between Beacon St and Cambridge St, Beacon Hill, Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-227-4392
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 207 attractions in Boston
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The famous Boston Brahmin neighborhood of red brick sidewalks, cobblestoned streets, elegant townhouses and gas street lamps.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great walking tour...or take the duck tour! Really fascinating neighborhood - perfect way to spend a lazy day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    227
    31
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“loved walking around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The buildings are beautiful. We incorporated walking around the Boston Common with walking around Beacon Hill--recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint and picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just moved to Boston recently so I'm still largely in tourist mode and exploring the city. Last weekend I stumbled into Beacon Hill after crossing Boston Common and was delighted to find such a charming area. It reminded me a lot of London (which from what I gather isn't completely an accident). Definitely a nice area to stroll through and stop for a coffee if you're nearby.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nicest borough in Boston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hilly streets, the old Bostonian flavour to them, with lined trees mixed with brick red, prettiest side of Boston. Full stop!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Bring a camera. Find the cobblestone street called Acorn st for great artsy pics. Boston common is gorgeous as well

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Hill also viewed

 

Been to Beacon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.