We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Amelio's Off the Boat Italian & Seafood Restaurant

D'Amelio's Off the Boat Italian & Seafood Restaurant
28 Porter Street, Boston, MA 02128 (East Boston / Logan Airport)
6175618800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 2,856 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Boston / Logan Airport
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

the Embassy Suites at Logan Boston recommended this restaurant. We walked the short distance. It was well worth the walk. It is a small place that is so full of culture. The food is so good. Freshly made everyday. The Italian food especially the eggplant parmesan was great. We ordered several appetizers and that way we got to enjoy several things. Dessert was yummy too. The wait staff was so friendly and glad to see us come back that week. A real treasure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    31
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I took my son to lunch to celebrate his last day of camp concert, and we couldn't get a table at our first choice. I turned to Trip Advisor for help as I'm not that familiar with East Boston, and found this place. It was 3:00pm so not very busy and we were seated right away. Our waitress was new and a little nervous but so helpful and sweet! She overheard my 11yr old talking about what he wanted that wasnt on the menu and without our even having to ask assured him the chef would make it no problem, and make it he (she?) did! The food was quick to arrive, piping hot, so delicious and fresh. It absolutely earned a thumbs up and eye roll from my son who is a food snob of epic proportions, and I couldn't say enough about it too. We will definitely be back, and soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yes, it's that good...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This seafood is fresh...the batter is perfect, not greasy but crisp and perfectly balanced so as not to overwhelm the fish. Absolutely must go...!! It is worth it...!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not easy to get to (it is located literally one block from the northeast entrance of the Sumner tunnel going into Boston), the appeal of this neighborhood restaurant is the quality of the food -- authentic Italian seafood -- and it's ambiance. The restaurant is small and reservations are highly recommended, but you will not be disappointed. Not too expensive, great food, excellent, friendly service, and not located in the high traffic tourist areas all make this restaurant a hidden gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent veal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Quick detour prior to the airport resulted in a great dinner! Veal Marcella & Capri were equally yummy as were the soft shell crabs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Amelio's Off the Boat Italian & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D'Amelio's Off the Boat Italian & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Amelio's Off the Boat Italian & Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.