We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Just Not That Awesome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bunker Hill Monument

Bunker Hill Monument
Monument Square, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)
617-242-5641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 210 attractions in Boston
Type: Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 220-foot granite tower commemorates the Patriots' undaunted bravery in defeat at the 1775 Battle of Bunker Hill.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's Just Not That Awesome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I dunno – it's a George Washington-esque monument on top of a grassy hill. It's not even that tall (especially if you've stood next to the actual Washington Monument). There's a fence. A placard with words on it. If I had just walked the whole Freedom Trail just to end up here, it'd be annoyed. Especially because it's in the middle of a residential neighborhood – you can't just go get some hot coco or a beer somewhere afterwards.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    136
    51
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Historic site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

There's not a whole lot to see here but it's a very historic site. It's a bit of a climb to the top of the monument but you'll get a good view. In the building at the bottom of the monument there is a park ranger who is very informative and tells the story of the Battle of Bunker Hill. Also, check out the free Bunker Hill museum across the street which has a lot of information about the battle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Piece of American History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went to Bunker Hill as part of our freedom trail walk- a must do in Boston. Once we reached the monument we contemplated whether it was worth the 294 step climb to the top, eventually deciding that we might as well do it because 'who knows when we will get another chance'. I had to remind myself of that every 30 or so steps up the narrow stone spiral staircase to the top. There are these nifty markers every 70 or so stairs just to remind you how far you've come- or how far you have left to go. Didn't help that we were repeatedly being told by people coming down that it wasn't worth it, oh, and that it was summer and ridiculously hot. Anyways at the top there is a small room with 4 small windows covered in scratched glass. Good views but worth it? Maybe in winter. Definitely have a look at it though, even if you don't head up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lots of Steps, Great View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lots of steps, but the views from the windows on the top are worth it. Avoid the climb if you are claustrophobic! Next time I'll bring a bottle of water with me. The Visitor's Center is across the street from the Bunker Hill monument. The top floor of the visitors center has a large diorama that explains the battle (and it has an elevator, yeah!) Other exhibits I found interesting include armaments and musical instruments that date back to the Revolution and a history of Charlestown. Definitely take 30 - 60 minutes to see the visitor's center.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The world changed here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was at Bunker Hill as a child and going back was just as I remembered. Every visit to the Boston area should include this monument to our founders. Farmer soldiers against the greatest army in the world, isolated on this tiny penninsula from the rest of america. The world changed here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunker Hill Monument also viewed

 

Been to Bunker Hill Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunker Hill Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bunker Hill Monument to your Saves list