We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Constitution Inn to your Saves list
Constitution Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Third Avenue, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129 (Charlestown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Weston, Fl
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Adequate but basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, regular free shuttle to Boston North Station, adequate but basic accomodation as well priced for what it is as we could find in Boston. If you are going to be out and about all day this is the place for you. Don't expect any frills. Helpfully friendly staff

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    124
    107
    56
    48
See reviews for
100
104
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inuvik, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We picked this hotel since it saved us almost a $100 a night compared to other hotels near Boston. The advertised rate per night was cheaper and there was big savings on the taxes.
The hotel is not pretty but functional. The room was comfortable and clean. The tv was a CRT and the remote was missing. The hotel was noisy as we could hear banging during the morning and evening but it stop by bedtime.
The location is not ideal. It is off any bus line or subway. It is near a free shuttle to North Station and since it is near the U.S.S. Constitution, it's close to a few hope on/off tour buses. Getting back to the hotel late at night can be a problem, if you don't like walking. Tour buses are off the road and the free shuttle is once every 30mins. The walk is only 10-15mins and is fairly well lit and busy.
I give this hotel a 4/5 due the value when comparing to other Boston hotels. In most cities, I would have giving this hotel a 3 or possibly even a 2.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were a group of a dozen guys visiting Boston for a sporting event on a tour package that included lodging at the Constitution Inn, which was not well reviewed recently on Trip Advisor, so we looked to move to another hotel... but with The Bruins in the Playoffs and the Red Sox celebrating the 100th anniversary of Fenway Park against the New York Yankees we were out of options and decided to try the Constitution Inn.

I have to say, it was much better than I had expected, and I have certainly stayed in lesser establishments.

My room was fairly large, with two pretty comfortable double beds a small fridge and a microwave. There was a small tube TV from the 90's that had a clear picture and remote that worked very well. It had no view to speak of and no book of Hotel information and I had no idea how to make a room to room call, as all the usual tricks didn't seem to work... but no matter.

The room was clean and tidy. Towels were soft and the shampoo and conditioner were replenished when needed. We also had no trouble getting extra towels if needed.

The Hotel was full while we were there, with a few sports teams in town for the same tournament we were in town for so there was a bit of hustle and bustle in the halls and lobbies... but my room was pretty quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. In the morning there was quite a bit of noise from the shower in the room next door, as it was actually louder than the shower in my own bathroom... but no big deal.

The staff at the Constitution In are really nice nice and friendly. We needed a late check out due to an evening flight and they were kind enough to allow us to keep one of our rooms to store our luggage until we departed at 4 PM for the airport.

This place was great for what we needed, close to I-93, a $7 cab ride to TD Garden and the pubs, clean rooms, clean towels and hot water.

There is a coffee shop a stones throw away... with poor service but good coffee and muffins, and also a corner store with fresh fruit, wine and beer and the snack items needed in your room.

Tavern on the Water is a few minutes walk and is a great spot for a meal and a beverage. Great staff, lots of sports on TV and good food with a brilliant skyline view of Downtown Boston.

Not the place for a romantic get away... but good for the what we needed.

Room Tip: Even # rooms have a "bit" of a view... at least better than the odd # rooms that face a br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I couldn't decide if I should name the title of my review "Alcoholic's Unite" or "Hobo's Heaven". I say that because every morning the house keepers spent the first half of their morning cleaning the alcohol bottles and beer cans that had been hurdled in the hallway from the guests at the hotel who were either 21 years old or were acting like they were 21 years old. Furthermore, strays from the area found their way into the hotel to consume whatever alcohol was left in the hallway (Like dogs to an open trash can analogy). This environment led to many long nights of people in the hallway hooting and hollering; which made it unenjoyable for the folks staying at the hotel who chose the Constitution Inn for it's proximity to the USS Constitution and the other historical aspects of this area.

The room itself was out-dated from the television to the shower heads to the amenities in the rooms, to the air conditioning in our room which didn't work and made the room unbearable some nights. Our room was clean and thus the reason why I didn't rate this hotel a one star hotel. There are plenty of places to eat in the area, but it's a good 2-3 mile walk away and the hotel was very "ala carte". I didn't have a vehicle that I parked, but it looked like other folks were parking on the streets in the area; I didn't notice a parking lot.

I wouldn't recommend staying here. This hotel is very substandard compared to the other hotels in the area. It's Boston and there are plenty of options in the area and for the price I'd look at other options.

Room Tip: I'd find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Constitution Inn Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience and that some of our other guests disturbed you. We do have security on 24-hours to assist in maintaining the safety & comfort of our guests and we certainly do not allow unauthorized people in the building. Unfortunately as hard as our security team may try, sometimes guests are uncooperative and we did have one group in particular this past weekend that fits this description. We have also almost completed renovations with the aim of improving the appearance and quality of our facility. New flat-screen TV's are going into the guest rooms along with new carpeting, bedding, etc. As far as parking is concerned, there is a garage just around the corner that guests can use for $6/night with validation, a far lower price than any other hotel in the city. On weekends the parking meters are off so many guests choose to park on the street for free. Once again, we apologize that you were disappointed and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Warmest Regards,

The Constitution Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc82271
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Traveling with a 6 year old, we were looking to be out of the middle of the city so we booked this hotel. It was a nice quiet location - but it was so complicated to get around. We weren't sure if we wanted to try to navigate the subway/train system - so we opted for the ferry. Problem was the ferry stopped at a set time - and kind of screwed up dinner plans. Hotel itself was great. Connected to a YMCA - but you would never know. Quiet. Rooms were decent. Staff was awesome. We arrived early in the day, and wanted to check out baggage and then go out sightseeing. Kind of surprised me that you just "dropped" your bags in the office and that was it. They weren't locked up securely. That was my only issue. One benefit was the fact that you could park your car for the time of your staff at the hospital a few blocks away. You couldn't come and go, or you had to pay the daily rates which were extremely high. So we dropped the car off immediately upon check-in and didn't get it until check-out. Might stay here again if I want to be out of the city in a quiet area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bar harbor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

First the positive. Great price for Boston, location is interesting but a little remote.
Now the negative. Room 613 was filthy, impacted dirt in corners of bathroom, exhaust fan blades take a few minutes to run (loud humming sound) because of dust blocking the blades, hair (not mine I'm bald!) on bathroom floor, cigarette burns on furniture (room 411), dust in hairdryer screen (lucky I'm bald!). same disgusting housekeeping. All the polite apologies from management can't be a substitute for not seeing the obvious problems with this property.
The property has great potential and it's a shame that the management/owners are so clueless and run it like a homeless shelter. This review may sound harsh compared to others about this hotel, but perhaps for those that have reasonable standards (2 stars or not) about cleanliness should heed the warning

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Constitution Inn Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience and that the cleanliness of your room was not acceptable. We will admit that the furniture in some of our rooms is a bit tired, and we are currently shopping vendors with hopes of acquiring new equipment in the very near future. Besides the furniture, nearly every other item in the rooms will be brand new by the end of May. Cleanliness problems such as the ones that you encountered are entirely preventable and we hope to avoid them in the future. In order to achieve this goal, we have recently added supplemental management and have rolled out a new operational model and re-training program aimed at improving our services and increasing the satisfaction level of our guests. This is an ongoing process and our employees are being coached by management towards meeting the new standards that we have set. We have also almost completed renovations aimed at improving the appearance and quality of our facility. Once again, we apologize that you were disappointed and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Warmest Regards,

The Constitution Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel is in the Charleston Naval Yard, which is NOWHERE. It's in Boston, but miles from anything, and we ran up some major taxi bills. Very quiet, attractive neighborhood, though. Sound inside the hotel was peculiarly loud, though; we could hear every word the neighbors were saying, both nights. A nice nearby restaurant, the Bistro. Room was large and clean, staff was excellent, but it was just too remote for us -- and interior noises too loud.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Constitution Inn Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that your neighbors were noisy and that you spent more than anticipated on commuting. There is free a shuttle service in our area (with a stop located 2 minutes walking from the inn) that runs 5:30am-1am on weekdays and 8am-6pm on weekends. We are also a 20-minute walk from North Station (major subway hub) and the North End. Our front desk agents are well aware of the shuttle so we apologize if you were not made aware of this, but perhaps you just chose not to use the shuttle. We are glad to see that you rated us highly in all other categories besides location and are sorry to hear that we are too far from the city for your liking, perhaps knowledge of the shuttle would have swayed you in the other direction! Once again, we apologize that you were disappointed and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Warmest Regards,

The Constitution Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Address: 150 Third Avenue, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. The hotel is located just a few blocks from TD Banknorth Garden where The Celtics and The Bruins play. The Constitution Inn isthe perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constitution Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.