We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary Faces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Basil

Pho Basil
177A Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02115
617-262-5377
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scary Faces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We used the answers in a "favorite restaurants near Symphony Hall" forum here to choose Pho Basil. That was quite an adventure. We arrived 6:45 and by seven the place was full. We split the appetizer of the day - three chicken curry dumplings with a dipping sauce - and then chose two dinner items with "scary faces" (spicy) on the menu. One was lychee duck and one was tempura soft shell crab. The prices of the dinners and a bottle of wine were very reasonable. Let's give Pho Basil an "excellent" all around. I'm sure we were breathing fire at the folks around us at the Boston Pops.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great food and staff at prices hard to find in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went to Pho Basil ater reading the TA review. That doesn't always work out for me but on this occasion it was a big success.

This place is basic but clean and well located. I'm pretty new to Vietnamese food but the waitress helped us out and we had 4 tasty, well cooked and presented choices. The bill with tip came to $35 for 2 of us which probably gets you a couple of glasses of wine at some nearby spots.

I can recommend Pho Basil without hesitation and will be back next time I'm in Boston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had delecious PHO for about $8.00. Because of the great value, it is very crowded--even during the week. We had to waait about 15 minutes for a table but it was well worth the wait. the service was prompt and professional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food. Definitely go it is worth it. Its not very expesive and every time ive gone the food was incredible. The only thing is its a small place so try not to go in a big group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sort of cafe style with fast efficient service but you were not hurried once you had your meal.The atmosphere was buzzing probably because of the efficiency of the young staff.
Stirfry was excellent but too much as ever in USA. The mix of ginger and spices and the general smell of the place was intoxicating. Another visit planned next time in Boston.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Basil also viewed

 

Been to Pho Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.