We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for visiting Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 77 hotels in Boston
NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for visiting Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Chose this hotel mainly because of cost. Very wary with so many mixed reviews, however we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean, the staff most helpful and the breakfast, whilst basic,was more than adequate. We booked Beantown trolley tickets from the hotel so we were picked up at 8:30am by trolley shuttle and returned from the city by 5:30pm for the 2 days, so didn't need to use Andrew T station. Contrary to some reviewers comments, there are several nearby options for evening meals ranging from the Olive Garden Italian (always very busy) and Applebees (great steak and cod) in the adjacent shopping centre to a more upmarket Italian called 224 at, obviously, 224 Boston Rd, just a short walk away. In our opinion, a great budget location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    228
    89
    25
    18
See reviews for
112
166
33
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed fo one night; it rained from the wall all the night and the hotel answer was "extra towel"!!!! wonderful breakfast from 6 a.m.; not far from the subway, but in an ugly area of the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

spent two nights at this hotel in July. I chose it because the cost was substantially cheaper than hotels near the boston attractions. I also did some research and found out the hotel was near the subway. In fact, the subway is only a few blocks away- not a bad spot, actually.

The room itself was very disappointing. The hotel just seemed to be a bit dated, could use a freshen up..I can even live with that, im not the most picky guy..but what I have to say next is TRUE, and I seriously cannot believe it happened.

The first night, just getting ready for bed, and I dropped something near the bed. I bend over to pick it up, and I see what looks like a mouse trap. Closer look- yep, a mouse trap. The trap was between the wall and the bed, and the trap was set. NO mouse was in the trap, but I seriously could not believe what I saw. My thoughts were this: Did this hotel have mice? If so, would you really attempt to kill them while paying customers slept in the hotel? What if they caught the mouse, would they risk the chance of a dead mouse be in the trap while customers stayed there? I even thought, maybe it was a prank from the last guests..Probably with that theory is, if it were a prank, certainly the maids would have seen the trap, and taken it away! Of course they would, UNLESS they cleaned the room so POORLY, they didn't even look near the headboard and didnt even vacuum the room! Either way its a LOSE LOSE for this property..

I even sent management an email, explaining the situation..Not even an offer to make it right!? IF this is how the hotel takes care of its customers, well, you can decide. I will NEVER honor another Holiday inn EVER.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed for five nights. Free coffee throughout the day, plus cookies at 6pm!, free computers in hotel lobby, free parking, breakfast included and the staff were very friendly and helpful with every query. Subway was only 5 minutes walk away - not sure I'd want to walk back very late at night, but we found it was fine at about 9.30pm. Would have liked more choice of places to eat near the hotel - we ate at The Olive Garden (good) and Applebees (not so good) in the shopping centre.
Beware - although the address is Boston Street, you can't actually drive into the hotel from Boston Street, much to the annoyance of our sat-nav!! You have to go in through the South Bay shopping centre.
Would definitely recommend this as a cheap but adequate hotel to stay - free parking was a real bonus, and it's only 15 mins from Logan airport. Although right next to the freeway, we weren't disturbed by any traffic noise (and our room was about as close as you could get to the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked through ParkSleepFly.com to leave our car for 15 days, and this hotel was nice. Bathroom was small, room was nice. Car was safe throughout our absence and hotel is next to a large plaza with lots of stores. We got some last minute items for our flight and found the shuttle service to be easy and convenient.

We will definitely do this again versus paying just for parking at airport, plus it was cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We parked our car and took the trains into Boston. The station was within walking distance of the motel. They serve a large breakfast buffet. Parking is free. It is a short drive to the airport. Unless you have to be down in the heart of the city, this is a great place to stay with decent rates for the area. (I made an advance purchase and saved quite a bit of money.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Holiday Inn on Boston Street is one of the very few downtown hotels that offers free parking. The Hotel is very close to the Andrew T stop on the red line, walking to the station takes approx. 8 minutes. Breakfast and Wi-fi are complementary as well and the rooms are clean.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.