We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 77 hotels in Boston
Cayuga, ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room at this hotel pre-cruise. Included in the price was one nights stay, breakfast, ,parking and transfers to/from the cruise port. It was great! A little out of the way, but all in all, no complaints. There was one mall within walking distance with a couple of restaurants, which was handy.
We were welcomed warmly upon arrival and check in was a breeze. Our room was quite nice with 2 queen sized beds. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a great sleep and then the breakfast in the morning was also very good. They had eggs, sausage, cinnamon buns, cereals, toast, yogurt and more. 24 hour coffee/tea was available as well. The transfer to the cruise port was timely, as was the pick up at the cruise port upon our return. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    228
    89
    25
    18
See reviews for
112
166
33
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night for sleep/fly/park prior to trip and booked an additional night after trip return due to late airport arrival. Our return flight was cancelled and we did not arrive until the following day. Sent email to hotel "no worries, get your car when you return". The following day, were quite tired and inquired whether we could change our pre-payed non refundable night to another date. All staff, but especially assistant general manager Wagner Quintanilha, very helpful and accommodating, changed our reservation to another date. Also shuttle drivers Miguel and Oswaldo very friendly. Morning shuttle may not drive directly to the airport depending if other customers want to go to the subway or the hospital, don't count on 15 min ride.
Pleasant hotel with a very "new" feel to it, very clean rooms, comfortable beds, the bottled water in rooms greatly appreciated. Elevators are tiny and the luggage cart would not fit in.
Parking may be at the neighboring Courtyard if the lot is full, but easy walk back to Holiday Inn through the parking area.
Caution if you arrive from I 90 to I 93 S, you have to cut across all lanes to get to exit 18, especially with a lot of traffic this may not be possible, be prepared to take exit 15 and backtrack.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I booked this hotel because it was a decent price, near Boston but convenient to drive to Foxborough and had breakfast included.

Driving to the hotel through Boston (coming from Canada), wasn't too bad or complicated and when we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We parked the car in the parking lot of the hotel and walked to the nearest subway station (Andrew, on the red line), which took 10 minutes, when we wanted to go in to Boston.

The hotel is right on the I93, so it was very easy to leave for Foxborough (although the traffic was crazy). It is also right next to the South Bay Center which has a Target, TJ Maxx and Marshalls so if you forgot something like shampoo or a toothbrush or just want to do a bit of shopping, its just a quick walk over.

The rooms were very clean and pretty big. A big plus of the room the air conditioner which kept the room comfortable to sleep in while it was really really hot outside. Even though the hotel was right next to a major road, it was very quiet and no one had any trouble sleeping.

I think the best part of the hotel is the complimentary breakfast and 24 hour complimentary coffee and tea. The breakfast included things like pancakes, waffles, cereal, build your own breakfast sandwich with sausage one day and bacon the next, fruit juice, greek yogurt, toast and lots more. I always worry that I won't be able to eat anything at complimentary breakfasts because I have Celiac's and have to gluten free but there were lots of things I could eat, like eggs, yogurt, bacon and fruit.

Definitely recommend this hotel to anyway who wants the convenience of staying in downtown Boston but doesn't want to pay the huge price of actually staying in downtown Boston. Also a pretty good choice if you want to stay near Boston but are also going to an event in Foxborough at Gillette Stadium.

Room Tip: The North side of the 5th floor was very quiet and had a view of Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a conference, it was very clean. The staff was helpful. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and made for an easy start to the day. The breakfast had a lot of options to choose from, both hot and cold items. Fresh baked cookies available all day was a cute plus and made the lobby smell yummy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To start with, the service here is exceptional. Friendly, attentive and good at their jobs - how many places can you say that about anymore? Our room was spacious and fresh, and the location was quiet yet convenient to downtown. We booked a park and fly package for Holiday Inn Express on stay123, with two weeks of free parking, free round trip shuttle and then they threw breakfast in; and the price for all this was better than 'room only' arrangements at a less wonderful hotel or even just the cost of parking elsewhere. And then this particular hotel goes the extra mile to be good to you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were 4 in our group and had adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean, comfortable with complimentary water left each day. Each room had a micro and frig. The breakfasts were very good with different selections each day (we stayed M-F). I cannot say enough about the staff. Especially Gina at the front desk and Miguel who provided transportation. They were extremely helpful, informative and fun. This hotel was next door to a mall with several restaurants for your dining needs (Olive Garden, Panera and Applebees). Food/pizza is available for delivery from outside venders (see front desk staff). We ordered a pizza and ate in the breakfast room while playing cards, it was great!! Although not within walking distance to downtown, the T (subway) was nearby with hotel transportation to that site and to/from the airport. The hotel site was very convenient. The tours we took did a morning pickup every day at the hotel and delivered us safely back at the end of each day. I would definetly recommend this hotel for your Boston stay.

Room Tip: Our rooms were quiet, we faced the back parking lot and mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were really nice! A special shout out to Carol from Jamaica who was there our first night. She really helped us out a lot. So the situation was that we booked a room with 2 beds only when we got there they stated that because we used Bookings.com to make the reservation, it was done via 3rd party and as such we were not guaranteed the 2 beds. That was a real downer...I must say we were very upset. However Carol came to the rescue! We spent the first night in the room with the one bed but she said she will make a note and try to have us switched the next day, which she did! After that it was smooth sailings there at Holiday Inn Express! The shuttle service to the subway station was awesome! The drivers were very nice and friendly. The hotel was also close to South Bay Mall which had some decent shopping and food options. It was literally less than a 5mins walk.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and I loved the staff!!

The not so good now....The breakfast was ok...just that "ok". Nothing great about it. Very basic breakfast. The wifi in the rooms also wasn't very strong and reliable. The views from the roo were not very good. Our first roo had a view of the highway and a carpark and the othe view was of the roof....not great. This Holiday Inn doesn't have all the dazzle of most Holiday Inn's but I guess that may be because it's an Express? Not sure. Not nearly the worstplace I've stayed, not even close! But there is room for improvement.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for the room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Shilohna,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always our priority to make sure that we provide our guests with a friendly and comfortable accommodation. I am very delighted that our rooms and hotel staff were able to live up to your expectations.

It is regrettable to hear about your experience during check in and with the WiFi service provided. None the less, I am pleased that our staff were able to attend to your concerns in a timely manner. Please be assured that your comments will be used towards our improvement so we can provide you with greater stays in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.