We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable way to visit Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Mount Sunapee, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Affordable way to visit Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A great way to visit Boston and not have to pay out the inflated prices. I was passing through on business and stayed two nights. The rooms were pleasant and clean and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagner Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear DanandSueNH, Thank you very much for taking your time writing your kind review. Our team at the Holiday Inn Express strive to provide outstanding customer service and comfortable accommodations at affordable prices. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    248
    93
    26
    19
See reviews for
126
188
35
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Other than convenience to Logan, the hotel has little going for it. Service at check in was grumpy and unpleasant. Gaps under room doors nearly 2 inches allowing you to hear every conversation as you pass by in the hallways. The worst part is their idea of "pickup shuttle service." Cars are poorly labeled as to which Holiday Inn location it is that arrives outside your gate. When we were picked up by a Holiday Inn Shuttle going to a different location than ours we were treated like we did something wrong. Long wait time occurred for our pickup, horrible response from the front desk with little effort made to actually send us a shuttle to pickup up. The convenience of parking 5 miles south of the airport was negated after we stood on the sidewalk for 45 minutes waiting it our shuttle to finally show up!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagner Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Eoakes58 , Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your comment. We greatly appreciate your feedback, rest assured that the issues you have raised about our Shuttle Service and Reception have been documented and forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

nothing is exceptional about this hotel, receptionist was not so welcoming at all but maybe because the hotel was busy
i didn't get any compensation for not being upgraded - strange
room is average, nothing exceptional - location is OK - 10 minutes to downtown
there was an ongoing ventilation noise from shower room - i couldn't figure out how to stop it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagner Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Shmulik C ,

Thanks for taking your time writing this review about the Holiday Inn Express Boston. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location. Our hotel is very popular and unfortunately our staff can become overly busy at peak hours this time of the year. Please do not hesitate to contact me upon your next visit, I look forward to welcoming you back and assisting you..

Best regards,
Wagner
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was good staying here during my business visit. It is close to airport and hence is most suited for frequent fliers. Apart from that, the in house staff is best! They help you out in planning your sightseeing, there's a T station nearby and it offers a convenient shuttle service too. You can plan accordingly and visit one of the finest places like the USS constitution museum and the Freedom trail. Value for money, I would say!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear adarshkp89,

As the hotel General manager I want to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on line about your stay with us here in Boston. I was glad to read that you found everything you needed for touring around the city. If you are ever in the area we hope to see you again!!

All the Best

Dennis Callahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here over a fun, friend weekend and did not regret it. It was nice to stay in Boston for a pretty good reasonable price. I liked the location of it being right off of the highway and close to a T stop. The staff was extremely helpful when we asked for navigation, T information, or attractions. We first interacted with a woman who had long braided hair. She was great! She helped us with navigation and attraction questions. There was another young lady who was working a shift in the early evening who was great at the front desk. She was working in the morning as well and helped us get a cab. We even had a man late at night at the front desk who helped us with a few things we needed help with. I do have to say that I was bitten by a spider twice while in my bed, but how can a hotel really control spiders and it was not like they were poisonous. Other than that, everything was fairly clean, welcoming and nice! Again, I loved the location. It was easy to navigate to and from. I would recommend for a practical stay! If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower, this is a great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear LaughingD,

Thank you for posting your comments on line. As the hotel General Manager I have to say I am sorry to read that you had an issue with spiders. Although you did enjoy your stay, I want to than you for all the wonderful comments about the hotel from the staff to the location. If you are ever in the area again please feel free to give me a call personally, I will be happy to assist you making your reservation.

Warm Regards,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a very frustrating experience with the local HoJo, I made one call to this hotel. Front Desk Clerk Gwen totally saved my day! Got me a room, top floor, away from the elevator (I'm a day sleeper, work at night), was as friendly and helpful as anyone could hope for. Kudos to this hotel and to Gwen for being there when I needed them! SUPERIOR customer service!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear FStegall,

Great comments, thank you for taking the time to post them on line. We just think Gwen is one of the best. She really loves what she does and it shows with every guest that walks through the door. i am happy to read that she was able to make your day!!!

All the Best,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently spent a few nights here, and have no complaints about the place. Location wise, it was just a bit too far to walk into Boston town centre, but there was a subway station only a few minutes walk away. I believe they had a shuttle bus service that went to the subway as well, although I didn't feel the need to use it (as the weather was beautiful!).

The parking was free, and although a busy road was nearby, I can't say I noticed any road noise. The breakfast wasn't out of this world, but it was good enough for me to go back for more (a couple of times). Reception staff were friendly, and helped point me in the right direction for things to see in Boston town etc.
The bed was also comfortable, and I had my best nights sleep of my holiday when here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear DavidO1892,

Thanks for posting your comments on line about your stay with us here in the Boston. It was great to read that you found the hotel to be of easy access to the city center.

Regards,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
#57 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.