We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #57 of 77 hotels in Boston
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Alternative Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for show at convention center, great alternative spot. Clean comfortable rooms with mini fridge and microwave. Fitness room in basement with tredmills, elipticle and bike. No weights of any sort. Free shuttle to and from convention center and train station. Mall is 5 minute walk behind hotel and has a few restaurants to eat at. $5 airport shuttle as well.

If you want to escape the over priced rooms near convention center than I would reccomend this location and I would stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    228
    87
    25
    18
See reviews for
117
169
34
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed there for 2 night & I must honestly say that we enjoyed each & every second during our visit to Dorchester. We arrived after 4 hours trip with ferries, car trip to the hotel and we never had any problem regarding to our reservation and immediately checked in. We were expecting someone to help our 4 luggage but since there were no bell attendant, we were given a trolley to carry by ourselves to our room. The room was clean but the sheerer was thorn all the way from the ceiling to the bottom, old and look antique! furniture was in a very bad condition. Bathroom was looking old but cleaned. We discussed with my girlfriend that this hotel has this material and the employee is just doing their best with what they had or were given. But they were doing a great job. When we went for the breakfast, we really enjoyed the buffet which we were not expecting that much stuff... it was clean and variety of the food was surprisingly rich. There was a hispanic lady taking care of the buffet. I just asked a bread she decided to talk to me and told her story which is so sincere, then she brought us extra fresh fruits and bread and ham and cheese... she was unbelievably friendly, helpful, talkative, positive... and willing to make anyone more comfortable and threat anyone as her personal guest which is unbelievable! I was having trouble with my florida office, a paper work issue, front desk took time and gave their office fax machine to my personal use and for more than an hour i gave them very hard time with my phone calls, stress and attitude... they didn't even show a little face! Very helpful, sincere and solution oriented. I was very happy staying at this hotel, would stay again and recommend anyone who wants to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in this H.I.E. twice - Wed 17th Oct to Fri19th and Mon 22nd to Wed 24th.
The first time we were in room 123. This is bigger than average ground floor room, designed for disabled customers and therefore very spacious. On the second occassion we were in room 320 - a standard room. The beds were comfortable and the showers powerful. Both were good value as breakfast was included. There are NO lunches or dinners available. The rooms have a microwave for heating TV dinners. The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful. The supply of free coffee and access to an outside garden yard made the stay more pleasant. Andrew station, on the Red line, is only a 5-10 minute walk away across a free-way. Andrew is only two stops from Downtown Crossing - the heart of Boston and the subway system. If you arrive at Logan airport and decide to take the subway's Silver line, you need to know this is a BUS and not a train. You catch it at the kerbside immediately in front of the terminals.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for the disabled are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We looked for a hotel with free parking and close to the public transport. This hotel served the purpose and we were generally satisfied. The Andrew subway station is 5-10 minutes to walk and the hotel provides also a shuttle to/from the station. The rooms and the hotel in general were clean and tidy. The washroom was really small and shabby though. The breakfast is standard for HIX, the pancake machine did not work once during our four days stay. The card key system was an absolute disaster, our card keys had to be redone every evening we returned to the hotel. So we got acquainted probably with every staff member working at the reception. They were friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: As for highway noise you would probably prefer a south side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Buy a tent, sleep on the street.Do not spend a penny with them.No bar, no restaurant, taxi fare will cost you thirty five dollars to go eat
a hamburger , no hot water in the shower, no one cares, they tell you , you should expect this, you're on the eight floor, and for all this this they charge you over $200. per night plus taxes.Then when you fill in the form , they apologise to the people , unsuspecting though they are, that are trying to check in, they tell them. YOU are holding things up.

Room Tip: Buy a tent and sleep on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose this hotel for convenience and the airport shuttle, knowing that we would be arriving late (after a 23 hour AMTRAK journey from Chicago) and leaving early the next morning to pick up a hire car from the airport. We were met with probably the warmest and most friendly welcome we have ever encountered in the US, and we have travelled widely. Denise Brown was an absolute star, and she pulled out the stops to make us feel welcome and sort out the following day's game plan, whilst also providing advice on nearby facilities and eateries. Staff like Denise should be standard issue in all HIX hotels! As for the hotel, it excelled in every respect; huge room, great facilities, amazing bed and overall extremely clean and tidy. Breakfast was standard HIX fayre and the wi-fi was fast. For Boston, and bearing in mind its only a short taxi ride to Downtown, the price was reasonable. Would definitely use this hotel again, and it was definitely on a par with some of the more expensive hotels we used during our holiday.

Room Tip: The King Size rooms are enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wanted a reasonably inexpensive hotel not terribly far out from Boston. The HIX Boston fit the bill. Easy to get to off I-93, and close to the Andrew Red Line T station, which they shuttle to/from.

Other than that it was what you expect from a good HIX. Clean room, free parking, and a OK enough free breakfast.

As for highway noise, I stayed on the north side, facing I-93, and did not notice it at all.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.