We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 463 Beacon Street Guest House to your Saves list
463 Beacon Street Guest House
463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 46 Boston B&B and Inns
Camden, ME
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights in March/April. Our stay overlapped into April 1st, but we were still given the off-season rate. We also opted to stay in the least expensive room on the 4th floor with a shared bathroom @ $65/night. The room was clean, as well as the bath, so you really can't beat the price. The room also came with a mini-fridge and microwave.

Newbury Street is only 3 blocks away and you are within walking distance of the MFA Boston, Institute of Contemporary Art, Berkeley School of Music, and great restaurants. One night we ate a Korean/Japanese buffet-style restaurant; another evening we chose a Thai restaurant on Mass. Ave.

I called a few times before arriving to Boston and ea. time, the staff were friendly, helpful, and eager to please. I highly recommend this guest house. It exceeded all our expectations for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    45
    22
    30
See reviews for
30
75
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

We stayed here for a few nights in January, and the hotel is in a terrific location - a residential street that isn't very busy, about a 10 minute walk to the T, and about a 20 minute walk to the Commons. Newbury Street is super close, which made spontaneous shopping and dining convenient. If you book early enough there is minimal parking in the back that is very inexpensive for Boston. You do get the feeling upon entering that you're going into a home, and like an old home, it's got period-type charm and period-type quirkiness.

The room we stayed in was massive with high ceilings and was pleasantly decorated...Nothing that would place it in Conde Nast, but tasteful and comfortable (especially when you consider we paid about 1/4 the price of more upscale places in town). The only drawbacks were that you can't control the temperature of the individual rooms - it's all done centrally. There were some times when we wished the radiator would be on, and other times when we wished it would be off...but the desk staff was attentive and very helpful, and made efforts to control the temperature.

Also, the bathroom was pretty small, but it was clean and functional...again - if I were paying Ritz-type prices, I would have been upset, but for the cash, you can't really beat it. The only other thing that was a little irritating is, like an old home, you can sometimes hear the folks in the rooms above or next to you (there should be a rule about wearing heels on hardwood floors!). Having lived in a couple of urban areas, my experience is that this is pretty common for city dwelling, though.

The front desk staff are the friendliest you could hope for, and make every effort to answer your questions with a smile. Also provided some good recommendations for local food. All in all, for the money, it's a great place to stay, provided you're not expecting more that what they offer.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

When approachinf 463's front door you don't know what to expect it looks like a normal enough Boston house in the neighbourhood.

Inside a very helpful manager showed us to our room which was No1 the first room in the hostel/ hotel.

The room was huge with a very impressive Kingsize bed.The room overlooked the main street and beside the reception and main door we thought there would be som noise but NONE the room was so peaceful we didn't wan't to leave.

The furnishing and decor were really impressive a gave the house a very homely feel to it. Fridge an Microwave in the room was great.( see Picture)

The TV was massive with a great selection of channels 30+.

Bathromm very small but so what the bed romm had us in awe.

Managers were very helpful.

Tea and Coffee free in the lobby while not very warm when I sampled was still a nice gesture

The walk to the T was around 15-20 min and I would use this to get back in to town if you wanted to get around Boston in a hurry.Tube station looked a bit dodgy so I wouldnt use it too late.

Irish Pub and corner shop less than 250 yards away.

Definately would stay here a again and again and again.

Very reasonable as opposed to Central Boston Hotels

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

This was in a great location; the staff were terrific. It is NOT the Ritz so if you want the Ritz, don't go. Easy access to everything from here; the Charles is virtually out the door and it's safe and clean. Reminicent of student days and student digs but the location and price makes up for it. No elevator so be warned if you are on the 5th floor. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

I am amazed that this place appears in many guide books under "gay accommodation". From my experience, gay run establishments or those promoted to gay people are usually either immaculately presented or funky and kitsch. This place is dingy and shabby with decor that taste forgot. It could not have appealed less to gay folks.

For my first two nights, I stayed with a friend in a large room with 2 huge beds with bathroom and kitchenette. It was perfectly acceptable though a little musty and uninviting. On the 3rd and 4th nights I stayed in a single-bedded room which was horrible. It was tiny with no window - apart from the one in the incredibly shabby adjoining bathroom. It was extremely stuffy and hot - the air-con didn't work. There was also a horrendously noisy fridge which I unplugged as it was giving out so much heat.

But what I hated most about this place was that there was no ambience or atmosphere. It felt like a mausoleum, totally devoid of energy. It had a deadness which was unpleasant. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at 463 Beacon Street Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2005
In our 14 years experience we have received 99.9% positive reviews from individuals and numerous guide books. We appeal to a very diverse population and obviously cannot please everyone, we don’t think any establishment can.

Our building is a turn-of-the century Back Bay mansion, which includes much of the original configuration and architectural detail. Some rooms are larger and have more character, and some, particularly on the upper floors are smaller and simpler , but we make sure to accurately represent the differences to potential guests.

We are the lowest price accommodations in Back Bay, but still reflect the Victorian, turn-of-the century ambiance with (ornamental) fireplaces, winding stairways, and original details which seems to satisfy most. The furnishings in our rooms may be a few years old, but function well; all our rooms are very neat, clean, and include more amenities than most hotels. If this were not the case, we would not be as favorably reviewed nor as consistently booked with repeat customers.

We suggest anyone interested to look at the reviews before making a judgment, what is “uninviting” to some people, is charming to others.

We certainly welcome any further questions or inquires.


Thank you,


The Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

I was very pleased with this place. A short walk from the Hynes convention centre T station and you arrive at the 463 Beacon, on a typical tree-lined brown brick Boston street. The first room was small, clean and well equipped, with a private bathroom, unfortunately no air conditioning though. An early upgrade to a very large room with air conditioning was a nice treat. The rooms were clean, and stocked with microwave and eating utensils. It is very close to Newbury St, a lovely street lined with restaurants, shopping and all you could need. A great place to stay in Boston in a great location. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2005

463 Beacon Street is a great option for the Boston visitor on a budget, who is looking for a clean, suitable place to stay in a nice neighborhood. My husband and I shared one of the smaller, cheaper rooms. The room was SMALL, but had its own shower and bathroom. It was clean, but maid service does not come daily. (I was aware of this before booking. This is not a complaint). It suited our needs perfectly as we really only slept there. The location is near a "T" stop and withing walking distance to Fenway Park. Shopping is nearby as well. We walked or took the "T" everywhere and really enjoyed our stay in Boston. Staying in the Backbay really gave us a feel for Boston that I don't think we would have gotten in a modern chain motel. I would go back to 463 Beacon Street even today when we have more money to spend.

  • Stayed August 2001
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Address: 463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 463 Beacon Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.