We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at 463 Beacon St” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Save Saved
You added 463 Beacon Street Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
463 Beacon Street Guest House
463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Do not stay at 463 Beacon St”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Simply the worst hotel room i have ever stayed in. I'm in my 50's and have traveled a lot on all budgets. We (me, wife, son) paid $200 and expected at least some basic comfort.
However, the room was dark. Half a window in the lower ground floor.
It was dirty - including the sheets, which we could see had ben slept in already. There was nobody to complain to - the staff had gone home. i found the laundry room and helped myself to clean sheets.
The paint was peeling off the walls, there were holes in the floor and ceiling, the bathroom was minute and falling apart.
Location is one thing but not enough in this case. We were ripped off.
The only reason i dont give zero is it is not an option on this site. Dont know where the good reviews came from. Probably fakes.

Room Tip: If you want a good room don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    38
    15
    23
See reviews for
26
59
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt Herts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked a deluxe room.
It was great to be staying in the historic BackBay area of Boston. Very convenient location to get around Boston on foot or by T train.
Large room included a sofa and microwave with crockery but no cutlery.
Comfortable room and bed.
A bit tired in places but forgiven because of the character of the room.
No maid service.
Not enough hangers.
No hairdryer.
Good value for city accomodation.

Room Tip: There's no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my first time in Boston and 463 Beacon was the perfect fit for my weekend stay. The location is great--very close to Newbury Street, Fenway Park, and a T station. Made it very easy to navigate the city. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room I stayed in was quaint and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and the experience was not positive enough to return again. The location is great and the outside gives you hope that this is a unique historic lodging. Inside, the rooms have much to be desired. The historic rooms have been bizarrely divided off and cheaply retrofitted with tiny bathrooms. The fixtures are low quality. The shower head was taped with clear tape. There are not any shelves to put your toothbrushes, etc. The beds are sagging and covered with bad pillows and polyester bedspreads. The tiny and cheap AC units are not adequate to cool the rooms. The staff was not helpful or knowledgeable about major attractions. Leaves were left uncleaned on the stairs for days. It just doesn’t seem that management gives a damn about maintaining a higher level of service. It could be so much better, but now it is such a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I reserved a room for one night during the height of the heat wave. The front desk person I spoke with said they had one room left and it was on the fourth floor. For $150, I assumed that the room had air conditioning. I found out in my confirmation email that it didn't. Just a fan and a small window. Well, the outside temp. was almost 100, and it was like a blast furnace in the room. I put the fan on, and went out for the evening. Upon my return, the fan had been turned off, and the room was sweltering. I slept on a park bench on nearby Commonwealth Mall. It was much more comfortable than the bed, and about 30 degrees cooler! The only positive this place has going for it is its location. The accommodations are more like a hostel, and the cost should be just a fraction of what they charge.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if the room you are booking has A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is our second time staying at 463 Beacon. We love the location, as it is walkable to a great Chinese restaurant, an Irish pub, a mini-mart, Newbury Street and a subway station. You can also go for a stroll or jog along the river, and if travelling with kids let them run off some steam in a lovely little playground.

The main downside of this guest house is the lack of elevator. If you are travelling with a lot of luggage, then request a room at the basement, first or second (maximum) floor. We so wanted to stay here that we willingly lugged our large cases all the way up to a 5th floor loft room.

If you love Edwardian ambiance and want to be in a great location to explore Boston, this is a good place for you. If you want a very posh, cushy-luxurious accommodation, then it most likely won't fit your bill. Rooms are not sparkling new, but they are cleaned well. We've never had problems with noise. Most rooms have a sink/microwave area, and some have small kitchenettes - handy, if you plan to be in town longer than a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A converted large family home near downtown. Many homes on Beacon street have been converted to guest homes. The location is good near the T line . (2.5 blocks).
Trying to get a room during commencement week in Boston is a challenge of sorts. This was the only room available for us at close $265.00/night.
The rooms are quaint and full of heritage furniture and decorations. A large old fashioned bed, but for us mattress far too soft.
Amenities are just in the bathroom, which is clean and modern. Very thin walls separate your bathroom with the one of your neighbor. My wife thought I was talking to her which actually was the neighbour man in his bathroom.
Service is only on request . Towels were exchanged but the bed not made! not a big deal but it was unexpected.
We arrived late pm and were advised to enter with the assistance of a key drop box, as the desk closes around 20.00 hrs. Despite many tries we were unable to open the box. No matter how hard we tried. Lucky for us another established guest arrived who in turn let us in.
There is coffee in the morning. Our room at the back of the house was quiet. Beacon street itself is a busy and noisy street during the day.
There was no need for AC, although we noticed a portable AC set in the closet for summer times.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the place. No elevators, only stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House
Address: 463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 463 Beacon Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.