We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly during on commencement week.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 463 Beacon Street Guest House to your Saves list
463 Beacon Street Guest House
463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Costly during on commencement week.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A converted large family home near downtown. Many homes on Beacon street have been converted to guest homes. The location is good near the T line . (2.5 blocks).
Trying to get a room during commencement week in Boston is a challenge of sorts. This was the only room available for us at close $265.00/night.
The rooms are quaint and full of heritage furniture and decorations. A large old fashioned bed, but for us mattress far too soft.
Amenities are just in the bathroom, which is clean and modern. Very thin walls separate your bathroom with the one of your neighbor. My wife thought I was talking to her which actually was the neighbour man in his bathroom.
Service is only on request . Towels were exchanged but the bed not made! not a big deal but it was unexpected.
We arrived late pm and were advised to enter with the assistance of a key drop box, as the desk closes around 20.00 hrs. Despite many tries we were unable to open the box. No matter how hard we tried. Lucky for us another established guest arrived who in turn let us in.
There is coffee in the morning. Our room at the back of the house was quiet. Beacon street itself is a busy and noisy street during the day.
There was no need for AC, although we noticed a portable AC set in the closet for summer times.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the place. No elevators, only stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    45
    22
    30
See reviews for
30
75
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ypsilanti
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

$159 for a medium size room with bath. Pluses, set in grand Victorian townhouse that will have would be interior decorators imaging how gorgeous the rooms could be. Close to BU, Fenway, shopping on Newbury St. Minuses, no sound proofing, telephone, front desk from evening to 8am, maid service! Hair dryer, shampoo or other amenities. Some may find this a fair trade off, others will hate it.

Room Tip: Rooms at back might be quieter, some share baths so be forewarned and ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I do not understand the good reviews, however, I will also try to find some positives. I certainly don't need anything fancy. I am fine staying somewhere that has been maintained and is clean. 463 Guesthouse is neither. For starters, 463 Guesthouse had a four night minimum for the Boston Marathon weekend. Some of the nicer, better maintained guesthouses had a three night minimum. The room was dirty and needed SIGNIFICANT renovations. I had to wash the sink and countertop as the sink still had food residue from the previous guests. If they didn't clean the sink, how can I be sure that the staff changed the bedding. The room was dark and dingy with poor lighting, and it had some kind of plastic, drop ceiling. We had to practically beg the front desk for additional towels and toilet paper. Positives. The location is great at the west end of the Back Bay a few blocks from Mass Ave and Hynes Convention Center T Stop. The room, which had two beds, was reasonably cheaper than some of the guest houses at $750-ish for the four nights. If you're strapped for cash, or are a bunch of poor college kids looking for a "flop-house" in the Back Bay, this is probably the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at 463 Beacon Street during a short visit to Boston en route to Maine (where I'm from). I was bringing my partner home to meet the fam for the first time and we wanted to have a few days of vacationing on our own before the family time. This place was a great find, and probably the highlight of our visit. It was a great location, within walking distance of everything- including dinner with some friends over near MIT, a Red Sox game, breakfast and coffee on Newbury Street and a walk along the river. We were in Room 50, on the top floor. The private balcony and view over Beacon Street made walking up all those stairs worth it! The staff were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. It felt like we really got a taste of living in the neighborhood, and we'd certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just finished another great stay at 463. My wife and I have been coming here once or twice a year for 15 years. Our first choice when in Boston--great price, great location, clean rooms, and service-oriented, friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Forget all the other reviews, this place is amazing. It may not be a 5 star hotel, but we had a great stay. We visited over the Thanksgiving weekend where we were visiting our family in the Back Bay area. Extremely convenient. If there is ever a problem, you just let them know and they will be on it asap. Great service. The man at the front desk knew where everything was, very helpful. Restaurants, places, etc.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms with shared bathrooms, we stayed in a room with a private bath for a little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

ive stayed here at 463 5 times(last time January 2012,will be booking again for 2013),and for the price $69 (low season) its so cheap,its on beacon street,you would never know this place exists,no big garish signs,just the number,itsjust back of newbury street ,on a lovely Boston townhouse,close to the T hynes convention center,or hop on the mass ave bus,if you want to go to central square or harvard,fenway park is in walking distance,as is pretty much most of the Boston center is,there are good local bars,crossroads irish pub on the left hand corner,resturants a plenty,the guest house is old ,not sure how old,but its charming and has character,homely is the word im looking for,rooms come with tv,cable,en suite,microwave,fridge,didnt try the A.C its winter when i have been,there is no lift,which i dont mind,just enough time to like the large spiral wooden staircase,which adds to the old style,which i really like,the staff are great dave,brian, all have been nice welcoming,and grat source of local knowledge,i really enjoy coming back to Boston,and love this place,its warm,cheap,and on a great street,it really does feel like your a local in Boston,wherever you are from in the world,this is why ive just booked for a fifth time,tell your freinds,if you go to Boston,stay here

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Address: 463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 463 Beacon Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.