We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Live like a local"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Save Saved
You added 463 Beacon Street Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
463 Beacon Street Guest House
463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Live like a local"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

ive stayed here at 463 5 times(last time January 2012,will be booking again for 2013),and for the price $69 (low season) its so cheap,its on beacon street,you would never know this place exists,no big garish signs,just the number,itsjust back of newbury street ,on a lovely Boston townhouse,close to the T hynes convention center,or hop on the mass ave bus,if you want to go to central square or harvard,fenway park is in walking distance,as is pretty much most of the Boston center is,there are good local bars,crossroads irish pub on the left hand corner,resturants a plenty,the guest house is old ,not sure how old,but its charming and has character,homely is the word im looking for,rooms come with tv,cable,en suite,microwave,fridge,didnt try the A.C its winter when i have been,there is no lift,which i dont mind,just enough time to like the large spiral wooden staircase,which adds to the old style,which i really like,the staff are great dave,brian, all have been nice welcoming,and grat source of local knowledge,i really enjoy coming back to Boston,and love this place,its warm,cheap,and on a great street,it really does feel like your a local in Boston,wherever you are from in the world,this is why ive just booked for a fifth time,tell your freinds,if you go to Boston,stay here

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    38
    15
    23
See reviews for
26
59
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in early November 2012. First in Room B2 then in room 40. Both rooms were nice and clean (I DID check for hairs and dirt because of warning reviews posted here before). Though they did not clean the room every day, that might be a problem for some people.

I had to move rooms after 1 night because I booked late and the guest house was almost full. Unfortunately, though I had booked 3 consecutive days, they insisted quite rudely that I move out of one room at 11 without the chance to check in before 3. This though they said that the cleaner would be done with my new room (top floor, they worked from top to bottom) before even getting to my b2 (basement) room. I thought this was rather inflexible of them, and they only budged ungraciously when I insisted I needed to work from somewhere.

Otherwise, fantastic location just by the rental bicycle rack "Hubs" , nice large rooms, pretty clean bathrooms (even the shared ones), Wifi is ok, I couldn't find a safe in my rooms, comfortable beds. Quite small windows in 40, if you want a lot of light pick another room. Their cheapest room is 85 dollars a night but quickly climbs with bigger rooms and own bathroom (I rented one for 159 dollars the first night).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the 463 Beacon Street Guest House very late September for two nights. It has taken me this long to write the review as I was so extremley disappointed with the experience but feel other travellers should be aware. We were greeted with a warm welcome from the young man at the desk who was most helpful. Thereafter the experience was horrible. The room was hot even though the room had a small, nosiy AC. The room was dirty and dusty. Dust was thickly covering surfaces like the microwave and could be seen by me across the room. The bathroom was dirty with hair from previous guests left in the shower. I did not want to walk barefoot on the floor as it was sticky and stained. Goodness knows when the carpet was last cleaned, if ever. The linen was of poor quality and when asked for an additional towel was offered a washer and handtowel as they had nothing else. It is not acceptable to operate a Guest House without maintaining it. Guests expect their rooms to be clean and linen to be of some quality higher than rags. On day of departure we left the bags while we collected our rental car and returned to the guest house to see a post it note on the door saying 'will return in ten minutes'. After 30 minutes the door finally was opened and at least four staff members had been there the entire time ignoring the door bell/intercom and our phone call to the property. At least they are consistent-awful room with awful service.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As all guest houses, don't expect same service as a hotel. There is no clerk around the clock, staff is not always on-site.
The room was spacious, with a mini fridge, counter, desk, couch, tv and a double bed. We were on the front fot eh house, so you could here some other time cars passing, but it was a quiet street overall so that wasn't a problem.
The bathroom was tiny... and the shower too. I dind' like it much but it made its purpose.
Location was really good, we were just a block away from the bridge you have to cross to go to MIT. There was a bike station right on the corner, and three blocks away from the "T" green line. If you are up to it, avoid using the T, and ride a bike. You can rent them in a shop or use the public ones; for short rides they are much cheaper and a really good option. We used them all day long to get from one point to another, it was great.
I thought it was good value given the money we had paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Old fashioned, dingy, small rooms, sullen staff. the street is very nice, but inside is a complete disappointment.no communal area in this hotel. Rooms do not have balconies. The bathroom was very small and dirty. Certainly not going to choose to vacation in the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Reasonable, convenient, and a great alternative to the expensive city hotels. Man at the front desk helped mt park my car out back. It felt like I was staying in someone's house as a guest. Room was very small, but comfortable and completely functional. Took a quick subway ride and saw the Blue Man Group!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed in a small room on the 3rd floor with shared bath in the hall way. It was exactly what I needed for one night, and extremely affordable compared to anywhere else, with the exception of living in the hostel. Pretty humid in the room while sleeping since it doesn't have A/C. Will book again should the occasion arises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House
Address: 463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 463 Beacon Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.