We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and quiet guest house. You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Save Saved
You added 463 Beacon Street Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
463 Beacon Street Guest House
463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small and quiet guest house. You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As all guest houses, don't expect same service as a hotel. There is no clerk around the clock, staff is not always on-site.
The room was spacious, with a mini fridge, counter, desk, couch, tv and a double bed. We were on the front fot eh house, so you could here some other time cars passing, but it was a quiet street overall so that wasn't a problem.
The bathroom was tiny... and the shower too. I dind' like it much but it made its purpose.
Location was really good, we were just a block away from the bridge you have to cross to go to MIT. There was a bike station right on the corner, and three blocks away from the "T" green line. If you are up to it, avoid using the T, and ride a bike. You can rent them in a shop or use the public ones; for short rides they are much cheaper and a really good option. We used them all day long to get from one point to another, it was great.
I thought it was good value given the money we had paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    38
    15
    23
See reviews for
26
59
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Old fashioned, dingy, small rooms, sullen staff. the street is very nice, but inside is a complete disappointment.no communal area in this hotel. Rooms do not have balconies. The bathroom was very small and dirty. Certainly not going to choose to vacation in the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Reasonable, convenient, and a great alternative to the expensive city hotels. Man at the front desk helped mt park my car out back. It felt like I was staying in someone's house as a guest. Room was very small, but comfortable and completely functional. Took a quick subway ride and saw the Blue Man Group!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed in a small room on the 3rd floor with shared bath in the hall way. It was exactly what I needed for one night, and extremely affordable compared to anywhere else, with the exception of living in the hostel. Pretty humid in the room while sleeping since it doesn't have A/C. Will book again should the occasion arises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

we are on our last night of a 5-night stay in the large room 1, located right off the lobby with a large bay window out to beacon street. the cost can't be beat in comparison to boston accommdation rates. upon arrival we found our room clean, the decor historic and charming, the king bed very comfortable and the staff helpful and pleasant. the back bay location is ideal, the lovely neighbourhood safe, the proximity to the T ideal. there are a number of unsatisfactory reviews about this guest house; we arrived hoping they were not the norm or from fussier guests than us - we found nothing like the negative reviews in our stay. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you understand the difference between a Hotel and a Guest House you will not be surprised. We stayed in Room 1. Awesome room. Very small bathroom tucked into the corner. I am not sure how a "bigger" person would be able to use the toilet the way it was squeezed in between the sink and shower.

Don't expect lots of free shampoos, soaps and such. Bring your own. Morning coffee wasn't ready until after 8:30AM. No daily maid service either. The rooms on the higher floors are tiny and hot in the Summer. They have window air conditioners but they are loud. So your choice is noise or heat.

On the plus side, the rooms are cheap for Boston and you are very close to lots of stuff. A short walk takes you to small corner grocery store where you can buy shampoo. Coffee shops are nearby too. Lots of restaurants and stores a couple of streets down.

During our stay all of the rooms were taken so it is a fairly popular place.

As a guest house I would give this a 4 or 5. As a hotel a 1 or 2. Overall a 3.

Room Tip: Room 1 (on the ground floor) is the best room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I needed a place to stay last minute for a weekend of baseball, shopping, and fun. Boston is notorious for high priced rooms, however 463 Beacon St Guest House was extremely affordable at $119 a night including taxes. Located a few blocks from Newberry st & a 15 minute walk to Fenway made this the ideal location. Note this isn't the Merriot, but more like a college apartment. If you want an affordable getaway in a true brownstone with stain glass windows and charm, then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House
Address: 463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 463 Beacon Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.