We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a local!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added 463 Beacon Street Guest House to your Saves list
463 Beacon Street Guest House
463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 44 Boston B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Live like a local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

ive stayed here at 463 4 times,and for the price $69 (low season) its so cheap,its on beacon street,you would never know this place exists,no big garish signs,just the number,itsjust back of newbury street ,on a lovely Boston townhouse,close to the T hynes convention center,or hop on the mass ave bus,if you want to go to central square or harvard,fenway park is in walking distance,as is pretty much most of the Boston center is,there are good local bars,crossroads irish pub on the left hand corner,resturants a plenty,the guest house is old ,not sure how old,but its charming and has character,homely is the word im looking for,rooms come with tv,cable,en suite,microwave,fridge,didnt try the A.C its winter when i have been,there is no lift,which i dont mind,just enough time to like the large spiral wooden staircase,which adds to the old style,which i really like,the staff are great dave,brian, all have been nice welcoming,and grat source of local knowledge,i really enjoy coming back to Boston,and love this place,its warm,cheap,and on a great street,it really does feel like your a local in Boston,wherever you are from in the world,this is why ive just booked for a fifth time,tell your freinds,if you go to Boston,stay here!

Room Tip: if you dont like stairs,as for a lower floor room, great veiws from rooms facing beacon street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    43
    21
    30
See reviews for
28
75
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The location is good, but that's about it. We paid $129 per night for a "large room with kitchen" on the bottom level. The room was a damp basement room. During the night, water dripped on our heads in bed every time someone above used a sink. The "kitchen" had a ratty table, with 3 mismatched chairs and an electric stove from the 70's. The rest of the furniture was not much better. Taking just the approximately $400 we gave them for a 3-night stay to Ikea could vastly improve the accommodations.

Cleanliness was also an issue. Not only was the room dirty with cobwebs, it was not cleaned during the 3 nights we stayed, and, despite our complaints, no one came to fix the leak from the ceiling.

I strongly urge everyone away from this guest house. The location and exterior are enticing, but the reality inside is vintage "tenement".

Room Tip: Not the lower level, certainly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsg463, Owner at 463 Beacon Street Guest House, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Yes, this room is on the (dry) basement level of our guest house, but we always encourage perspective guests to visit our website which has pictures and locations of each room. We also send a reservation confirmation with detailed information, including the fact that we do not provide a daily maid service. We do have a card however, to be left out, for fresh towels and supplies.
While I apologize for any water dripping, my staff did indeed respond and found out that the guests, in the room above, had left their shower curtain open enough to cause some leakage. This "human error" was corrected immediately.
While we strive to offer the cleanest of facilities, we certainly apologize for any situation that was not 100% perfect.
As the owner and general manager I am always willing to discuss any situation, personally, with guests, and respond accordingly. There is a comment card in every room with my name on it. Unfortunately, I was only made aware of this guest's issues by reading their "review". I certainly would have preferred being contacted for an opportunity to discuss this, and still welcome the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Centrally-located on an attractive, tree-lined street in Back Bay, this no-frills place is a terrific value for Boston ($149 per night for 2 people, including tax – many Boston hotels in worse locations are easily triple the price!), and offers super-courteous, helpful service. Brian and Chris assisted us during our booking and stay, and were terrific. When a rogue snowstorm threatened to delay us for hours, Chris was very reassuring and calmed our worries in case we arrived late at night. Everyone we met was helpful without being intrusive, and happily suggested places to eat, looked up information for us, and called taxis if needed. The place is also a quick 5-minute walk to the Hynes T stop and nearby Charles River, and the many cute shops and restaurants on Newbury Street.

We stayed in two spacious, vintage rooms: Room #22 (2nd floor, 2 queen beds) and #1 (1st floor, 1 king bed). Both had private baths and kitchenettes (convenient if you want to refrigerate and reheat restaurant meal leftovers). The beds were firm and the building was beautifully vintage – make sure you look up the central staircase, with its pretty stained glass ceiling and chandelier. We knew this was a budget place, so we brought our own soap, shampoo and lotion (they provide lots of towels), and did not expect maid service daily (as is clearly stated on the hotel website) – and it was fine. There’s no elevator, so if that’s a concern, try a lower floor. The only quibble was that some corners and crevices could have been dusted and cleaned more, and some bathroom areas were a bit small/worn (but the shower stalls, toilets and bathroom sinks were clean). However, we also realize that big updates to the building would likely increase the prices!

There is convenient basic tea and coffee in the lobby, and they sweetly put out muffins in the morning, plus candy, during our Halloween weekend stay. (If – like my significant other – you’re a coffee connoisseur who wants more than basic coffee, there are also coffeehouses just a few minutes away on Newbury St., including a surprisingly decent Starbucks, Espresso Royale, and Wired Puppy). We walked easily to Symphony Hall and the South End neighborhood, with its terrific restaurants (e.g., Toro, flour bakery, Stella’s, Orinoco…for a slightly more scenic walk to South End from the hotel, try going south down Mass Ave until the Mass Ave T station, then cut east through a pedestrian path along a small park towards Concord, and walk south the rest of way down Concord). It’s also a fast T-ride from the hotel to the lovely neighborhoods of Brookline and Cambridge. All in all, if you’re a traveler who does not need luxuries, this place makes up for its no-frills status with 5-star service, location and convenience, all at amazing prices for Boston.

Room Tip: Rooms #22 (2nd floor, 2 queen beds) and #1 (1st floor, 1 king bed) were spacious and nicely decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Good location, 5mins walk to T stop. Friendly and helpful on reception. Our room on 4th floor was a struggle with baggage but we knew that ie. plenty of warning about no lifts. Room was adequate, not too clean (cobwebs and dust) and shared bathroom was a downside but wasn't a big issue ( again we knew that was the case) . Good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the lower floors if you have an option...saves lugging the cases up that beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. We had a problem on night one & without any questioning the front desk guy refunded our costs. He had already been really helpful & informative & continued to be so throughout our stay.
It is pretty basic but I wouldnt knock it for that. On a value for money scale it is excellent. And what a great location. Boston is a walking city & we walked everywhere & its all really accessible from here. Great cafes, bars & restaurants all close at hand as well as lots of shopping if thats what you want.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsip, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

463 Beacon Street is conveniently located about 1/4 mile from the Hynes Convention Center T stop in a beautiful stretch of Brownstones. It's just a block away from the shops and cafes on Newbury Street and a short walk from the Prudential Center. The price of accomodations is very reasonable. Note that it is a guest house and not a B&B; no breakfast or luxury amenities. Be sure to bring your own soap, shampoo, and lotion. Our group found the linens and pillows to be slightly lacking - thin, rough, small towels and one smashed pillow per person. However, the website is very upfront in telling guests that there is no maid service, so the level of amenities should not be unexpected. I wish that whomever put in the kitchenettes would have considered using wood or wood veneer, as the white formica cabinets totally ruin the Victorian ambience of the rooms. We would definitely consider 463 Beacon again on another trip to Boston, both for the location and the price.

Room Tip: If your choice is between 41 and 42, choose 41. It is much more spacious and should not be the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I discovered 173 by accident on line. Nestled on Beacon Street, the old Brownstone is warm and inviting. And once inside the magic feelings begin. It is by no means a B&B, so if you're looking to get pampered, uyou've come to the wrong hotel. 463 is nothing like that. It is understated and elegant. The staff is friendly and professional and most accomodating, especially for returning guests like me. I will be visiting for the second time this November. and what keeps me coming back is the neighborhood restaurants, (like the Trident bookstore and cafe), the hotel ambience and the feeling that I am in an elegant home. Actually, the house dates back to the 1800's and the winding staircase alone makes your stay worthwhile, not to mention the exercise you'll get. The hotel is within walking distance of a little park on Commonwealth and so worth the walk. I love love love Boston, and 463 Beacon is just one reason. Also forgot to mention a microwave and small fridge. The deli around the corner has little goodies for stocking up. Bring your Starbucks via though. Just sayin....

Room Tip: 3rd. floor has 2 rooms. One to the left of the stairwell, is smaller but has a private shower. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Address: 463 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 463 Beacon Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.