We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in over-priced Boston” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copley House to your Saves list
Copley House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location in over-priced Boston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Boston is a hard place to find reasonably priced accommodation. Copley House fit our needs: it was located in a great neighbourhood & wasn't too expensive. The rooms need a little love and so do the hallways but all in all a nice stay. A real highlight was walking around the South Ends historic residential streets in the evening. So charming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I'm glad you found us, Tressa! Thanks for taking the time to share some feedback about your stay with us. It sounds like you were comfortable and happy with the value overall, and I'm happy to hear it. I hope you'd consider staying with us again on your next trip to Boston!

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    166
    72
    37
    41
See reviews for
100
137
40
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Perfect location central to everything, Very helpful staff. Apartment was cozy, easy to access, clean, all in working order. Walk to Prudential Center, Fenway Park, Boston Public Library, and everything downtown. Safe area. It is not super fancy, but it is everything it said it would be. We liked not being in a formal hotel. We liked the apartment set-up and the great access. Can't say enough good things about the staff. We will stay here again on our next trip to Boston.

Room Tip: I believe some rooms require access via stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this, Bob! I truly appreciate your compliments about our staff and facilities. It sounds like you took great advantage of our location, and I'm really glad to hear it! We're all looking forward to the next time you stay with us!

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are a family of 4 that stayed in one of the one bedroom suites (with a kitchenette and pull out bed/couch, plus a separate bed in a small bedroom). Everything was great - we were on the 3rd floor of one the St. Botolph St. buildings. The air conditioning worked well, which was good because it got quite warm in Boston during our stay! The beds were comfortable. We were able to have breakfast in each morning - the fridge, coffee pot, and 2 burner stove were great! Extremely convenient to the T lines, Prudential Center, and grocery stores. Very charming building and neighborhood. All staff was friendly and helpful. We did get parking, though not behind our building, but you can't beat $15/night in Boston! Room darkening shades would be nice - we were East facing and the sun rises early.

Room Tip: Some apartments are on upper floors, so if you would have trouble with getting luggage up flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm very happy to hear you and your family were comfortable staying with us during your time in Boston. It sounds like you took great advantage of our location and amenities! Your feedback is hugely appreciated, and I hope you'll keep us in mind for your next trip to Boston.

All the best,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at Copley House for four nights and loved pretty much everything. The apartment was light and airy, in a great neighbourhood and had everything you needed. A special treat was the daily servicing, which came as a surprise. Staff were very helpful and responded quickly to any queries. I would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor or higher - the basement apartment was dimly lit and lacked natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review! Your recommendation is much appreciated. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Boston, and want you to know that we'd gladly host you again the next time you're in town. Thanks again for your compliments, and keep us in mind for your next visit!

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Perfect location, clean rooms, great service. The buildings are older, so expect dated hallways, wall unit air conditioning and smaller bathrooms. The kitchenette was a very nice feature. Overall, for the price, a wonderful budget alternative to the very expensive hotels nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for your compliments, Andrea! I'm happy to know you found our hotel to be an excellent value. It's great hearing from you, and we all appreciate your taking the time to write up this review. Keep us in mind for the next time you're travelling to Boston!

All the best,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This "hotel" is actually a group of small apartments located in various townhouses in a charming Back Bay neighborhood. Location is 3 blocks from a MTA stop and an Olde Town Trolley stop. We bought the trolley passes on line and had perfect on/off trolley tours. Also near a upscale mall and many restaurants. The price was half that of the Marriott up the way.
Check in service was acceptable, not great. Staff spoke broken English and were unable to give understandable directions. The apartments had noisy room ac units of limited ability. Beds were more the size of a double than a queen, but clean and comfy. Bathrooms were OK, but lacked even a shelf to set a cosmetic bag. Kitchenette had small frig and no ice. Maid service arrived after 5pm. Basically, these apartments were converted as cheaply as possible and the staff is not top notch. For us, the location and price were worth the inconviences.

Room Tip: No elevators! Choose low floor to avoid climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for reviewing, Sadie! I'm happy to hear we were able to provide the value you were looking for. As for the inconveniences you mentioned, we really appreciate your feedback about these matters. We want to do everything we can to ensure our guests are comfortable, and are grateful for the feedback that helps us get there. Should you find yourself visiting Boston again in the future, we'd be happy to host you!

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Four of us have just spent 2 nights in a studio apartment run by Copley House. It was in St Stephens Ave, a short drive from the main establishment. The apartment was on the 3rd floor so for some, carrying luggage up the stairs might be a problem as there is no lift. It consists of a queen size bed, a sofa that turns into a double bed, a dining table with two chairs, well equipped kitchenette and well appointed bathroom. The location is good, about a 5 minute walk to the Prudential Building and quite a few good eateries around the corner. The bed was comfortable and sofa bed was adequate. Clean towels were supplied daily. Overall a pleasant place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for reviewing, Geoff-Dale! I'm happy to know you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us during your trip to Boston. It's great to hear that you took advantage of what our location has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts about your experience -- we'd happily host you again on your next trip.

Safe travels,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#45 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Chandler Inn
#57 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Newbury Guest House
#34 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#39 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#54 Family Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.