We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Townhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copley House to your Saves list
Copley House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Townhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at the Copley House St. Patrick's Day weekend. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating even before we left. We were having a family reunion so rented 2 small apartments which was great since we could put the younger of our group on the pullouts. The price was the same as a hotel room and we got so much more space. It's close to the T which is very easy to use. 7-11, Charles deli and a small grocery store nearby to stock up on breakfast items and snacks which cuts back on costs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Kathy. We do our best to provide a more homey and affordable alternative to hotels, and it's so great to know you felt well taken care of. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even better, don't hesitate to reach out with your suggestions. We'd welcome you and your family back anytime! Best wishes, Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    126
    55
    29
    40
See reviews for
77
107
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I saw all the reviews, and all the pictures, and expected a stay much better than it was. My friend and I found this place and were super excited to find a nice place for our vacation with me and my friends, for a good price. When we got there, the room was not nearly the size it made it seem. Barely fit the criteria for "one bedroom apartment" seeing as I've seen studio apartments bigger than that. That was after we had to carry all our bags a few blocks, without them even offering, which seems like something a hotel would offer with having different buildings. Me and my friend both have disabilities which made this walk hard for this. Second, the heating was broken for most of the trip, I guess, and the room was always either way too cold, or way too hot.

We had requested 2-3 extra blankets, and got one. We had also put out a sign for them to do our housekeeping, and all they did was give us new towels, which were dirty, didn't change the blankets, or sheets, or anything. Didn't even make the bed. And then the second day, they DID change our blankets, but again, it was dirty.

The second night we stayed, I barely got any sleep because they were doing construction all day and all night long in another room. Which was awesome, seeing as I had to get up early the next morning for an event.

The bed, was pretty comfy, which was a plus. And we had a really nice balcony with a pretty good view. Probably the only pros of the whole hotel. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I'm very disappointed to hear your stay with us fell short of expectations, Cassie. While I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the bed and balcony, it seems like several things went wrong during your stay, and I regret that our staff did not take better care to address these problems. Since we're not a traditional hotel, our apartment-style rooms vary greatly in size. We try to be upfront about this, but I'm sorry if we weren't clear enough. If you had let us know about the issues with the heater, housekeeping, and renovations, we would've been happy to make accommodations to make your stay more comfortable. I sincerely apologize that no one offered to help you carry your bags. I absolutely agree that you should be able to count on that, and I'll certainly be bringing your comments to our staff. Your feedback is always appreciated, so thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We would welcome you back for another stay anytime, and I'm confident that with your input we'll be able to show you the kind of hospitality you expect and deserve.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The room was quaint, clean and I was given plenty of towels. The room was also thankfully equipped with a space heater (I tend to get cold) and the bed was very comfortable.
Check in was quick and easy - the staff was friendly. The price was very reasonable and I would recommend staying here. I would stay here again as well!
Great!

Room Tip: The apt. I was given was great - located at 240 Newton Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you Judy! I'm delighted that from our comfortable beds to our friendly and efficient service, you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us. I appreciate you recommending us on TripAdvisor, and hope to see you back again soon.

All the best,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed in a one room apartment at Copley House for 2 nights. It was perfect for us (me and two teens) for a quick trip to Boston for museums and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful; we had housekeeping service (beds made, towels changed) which I wasn't expecting. Being one and half blocks from the Prudential Center was ideal for shopping and the subway, which we used a lot on our trip. I will definitely stay here again...great price for a central location on a quiet side street.

Room Tip: I asked to not be in the basement (based on previous reviews) and they accommodated my request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I'm so happy to hear you had such a great stay in Boston. Thanks for choosing us, and for writing up this wonderful review after the fact. Hopefully you had a nice weekend, and I hope we'll see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had to make a last minute reservation and found this catch here which so luckily was available for the time that I needed to stay AND was super affordable. You get what you pay for is all I have to say because it was worth every penny and I would definitely spend a little more to stay here again where I was comfortable and in a great location. Thank you Copley House, see ya next time!

Room Tip: I stayed in the one bedroom which was very spacious and adorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, Angela! I'm so happy to hear you had a great time in Boston. We'll see you soon.

Have a great weekend,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

First and foremost we rate accommodations based on: 1) is everything clean, 2) is the bed comfortable, and 3) is the staff helpful. The Copley House rates excellent on these basic criteria. We stayed in the townhouse at 239 W. Newton St so I cannot speak for any of their other 3 locations. Since these units are in very old buildings dating from perhaps the late 1800's of course many modifications have been made over the years. Our 1 bedroom suite was made by building a wall to separate the bedroom from the sitting area and kitchenette and putting in a very nice new bathroom with a walk-in shower. There is a shortage of closet space in this unit
and the bedroom is a little cramped but for the price, so what!

The location at 239 West Newton St is fantastic. It is less than 2 blocks to Huntington Ave and the Shops at Prudential Place, the Mall at Copley Place and a subway stop. This south end neighborhood is vibrant and has a beautiful walking trail along what was once a railroad right of way and the site of proposed Southwest Expressway to downtown Boston. When the project cancelled in the mid 1970's after many properties had already been razed, this blighted area became gentrified and resurrected into one of the best areas to live in Boston. My wife and I were both college students in Boston in the late sixties/early seventies and remember what this area was like back then.


.

Room Tip: When booking, request a room at 239 West Newton St . It has the best location and I do not know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for writing up such an amazing review after the fact. We too have been delighted with all the work that's been done in the South End over the past few decades. I enjoyed hearing from you about what the area was like in those days. As I mentioned, Copley House has been around the neighborhood for a long time and has seen many of the changes you mention!

Have a great week,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were here after last year marathon and the attentat. The city was almost closed.
The apartment was in a very good condition.
The price is very good for boston area. In fact i will return in a couple of months.
I would recomend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! I'm very happy to hear that you were so comfortable. Looking forward to seeing you again in a few months!

Have a great week,

Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#57 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.