We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but pricey with surprises” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copley House

Save Saved
You added Copley House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copley House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 77 hotels in Boston
Bar Harbor, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Different but pricey with surprises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location was very homey and made you feel like part of Boston. Easy walk to the T and to Fenway. We encountered 2 surprises; parking has a $15 per day charge which was in an alley 2 blocks from the room. The other was that we didn't actually stay at Copley House. It was another building several blocks away. We wish this had been made clear at booking.

Room Tip: Be very sure you understand hidden charges and where you'll actually be staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    99
    44
    23
    40
See reviews for
60
79
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our daughter is a student at Boston University so we have been visiting Boston a number of times each year. Each time we have stayed at the Copley House. We love the location. It is very convenient to BU. The T is close by but often we walk to her place because it is such a pleasant area. We have stayed in many of the units in a number of the buildings. We love having the kitchette and the feel of a small appartment rather than a hotel room. The neighborhood is exceptional and there is very convenient parking. This visit we also discovered an excellent restaurant, Giacomo's on Columbus Ave, which is very close and definitely worth a visit.

In terms of requesting a specific unit we have not had good luck. However, the vast majority of the units have been excellent so it's always a bit of a surprise seeing where we will be each time. One issue could be the stairs for anyone who is elderly. We stayed in one unit that we loved but it was 3 flights of steep stairs. Clearly not appropriate for some people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great alternative to the standard hotel, nothing like getting a true Boston neighborhood, subway, and sites right at your door. Save hundreds compared to staying in a suite at a chain, but still have a kitchen and room to relax. Great back bay location and I hope to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Appartments in the Boston historic district next to city center, Prudential Market. Each appartment unique, makes a bit feel at home. Kitchenette allows for some independence of restaurants. But - if you prefer anonymous elevators over steep stairs, if you hate to walk a block to get to your studio, and if you need the in-room bar filled - don't choose

Room Tip: Ask for room location - there are rooms in basement with little natural light, better to be avoided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely apartment for family of 4 in a central location. Staff were helpful and friendly and were able to accommodate our request to store our luggage on our day of departure after check out time at 12.Would highly recommend it and we would certainly return the next time we are in Boston. Prices tend to be on the high side in Boston but we feel this was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rented a 1BR studio apartment to share with 3 friends while in Boston for a few days. Linda provided excellent service. The apartment was clean, in a great location and nicely appointed. I will definitely stay at Copley House again when visiting Boston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We (two adults, two teens) stayed here in July for vacation. Copley House has some locations, we were in 171 Saint Botolph Street # 207, which is a five minutes walk from the reception. It was a studio with kitchen. Everything was fine, the staff was very helpful. We liked to stay in a quiet street although it was only a few minutes walk into the city. Limited parking space is behind the house, so you should tell them in advance. From our studio we had a nice view into the street when we sat at the table for breakfast.
Ciao Gero

Room Tip: 171 Saint Botolph Street # 207 quiet with a nice view into the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.