We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kenmore Sq, Bay State Rd at Deerfield St., Boston, MA 02215   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Boston B&B and Inns
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spotlessly Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October and enjoyed a very comfortable stay. We had a large twin bedded room at the front of the building. We had everything we needed - fresh towels and beds made everyday, kettle and fridge, tv, hairdryer etc, all in a very clean room . We were welcomed warmly by the owners on arrival and enjoyed getting to know them during the week. The breakfast was nice, with plenty of choices of fresh fruit and pastries, as well as cereals, juices, bread and spreads each day. The location was very convenient for the subway station and local restaurants. We would highly recommend Abigayles's B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    66
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
91
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our son is at MIT and his fraternity is located in a double brownstone 3 doors down from this B&B! We had a wonderful stay, enjoyed the location and flexibility of being close with our sons' busy schedule. The room was very clean and spacious, next time we will book a room in the front of the house due to the post office noise in the parking area behind. A white noise machine was provided so we still slept great :) The hosts are very nice and welcoming. It felt like home so much that I actually started putting my dishes in the kitchen off the dining room without even thinking one morning! We will stay here every time we visit our son from now on, so happy we found you.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I just spent three nights at Abigayle's, and it couldn't have been better. Clean and spacious room (and I mean clean -- far better than most hotels), very comfortable bed, modern bathroom (a pleasant surprise in a neighborhood of old brownstones) terrific location (two blocks from Kenmore Square and the subway), the hosts are helpful but nonintrusive. The breakfast is simple but thoroughly adequate, with different fresh fruit every morning. I would stay there again, definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After staying at Abigayle's in 2011, we knew where we would stay if we came back to Boston. This year we stayed for eight nights, and, just as before, it was great in every way. Large, beautiful and spotlessly clean room; great bed; tasty continental breakfasts; free wifi. The hosts are friendly and our whole stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 4A is at the front of the building; was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My friend and I had a lovely stay at Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were attentive and always ready for our inquiries regarding local restaurants etc. One way our stay could have been improved is if the owners presented a more local flavor at the continental breakfast. Instead of Skippy's peanut butter, an organic local brand would have been appreciated. The same with the jams and cold cuts. The New England states are known for their homemade/local jams, cold cuts and fabulous cheeses. Realizing a full breakfast is not permitted on the premises, special attention to a quality continental breakfast with food from local deli's and specially shops would have been appropriate and appreciated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's a great location for BU parents if you have students that dorms on Bay State street or Com Ave(in Warren Towers) and the proximity to the green line and other location made it ideal. Top floor rooms wasn't too challenging, very friendly and allowed up to keep stuff on the ground floor that we didn't need to use during our visit(kids luggage). Would recommend it and stay there again if coming to spend a lot of time at BU. I hope I'm not letting the cat out of the bag for this great location...I hope to stay there again next time I visit. Breakfast for decent and they will accommodate earlier times if needed. No signage, so don't be alarmed when your taxi drops you off in front of a residence, it's a B&B, not Sheraton or Marriott. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I just recently returned from my first trip to Boston. We booked this bed and breakfast after having issues trying to find an affordable hotel within the city limits. It is important to note that the Abigayle is also known as The Brownstone. The price for a large room with 2 twin beds and a private bathroom was $165 a night. The bathroom is new, clean and had plenty of hot water during our visit. The only downside is the stairs if you have mobility issues as the guest rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floors. The room had a fridge which is a bonus! The home is well maintained and the woodwork is amazing. Lihua and Vic are a very welcoming couple. They will assist you with restaurant recommendations, directions, and they even let us store our luggage after check out. The breakfast was continental, with a variety of cereals, fruit and bread/pastries. If you need a more substantial breakfast, you can head to Beacon St. although we never did.

It is about a 3min walk to the Kenmore (green line) station. It is on a quiet street behind Beacon street, close to the river. The surrounding area is a part of Boston University, but the street is mostly residential. If you are into baseball, Fenway park is about 7-10min walk. It is about a 10-15 min walk to the Boston Public Library and the transit system is easy to use ($18 for a one week pass).

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Boston and I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kenmore Sq, Bay State Rd at Deerfield St., Boston, MA 02215
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming brownstone, built in 1896, is set on a quiet, tree- lined street adjacent to Kenmore Square and the Charles River, and very near Boston University and Fenway Park. The property has been lovingly maintained as a private residence for two generations, and all original architectural details have been preserved. The home boasts modern amenities with old world Victorian charm, and its guest rooms come with: queen bed with a single foam sleep sofa (for a small child), or twin beds that can be made into a king bed with a single foam sleep sofa (for a small child), and private attached baths. There is also a single room with a private bath in the hall. All rooms have TVs, private phone lines, desks, and A/C, and are on either the 3rd or 4th floor. The B&B's popular breakfast is self-serve continental in the dining room. There is limited parking on site plus public parking lot half a block away. The green line subway is just steps from the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abigayle`s Hotel Boston
Abigayle`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigayle's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.