We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a visit to Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good for a visit to Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We liked the postion of the Fairmont Battery Wharf - right by the water and just at the end of the main street in the Italian North End District. We were pleased with our room - large, light and with all the right stuff in it, and with the helpfulness of the staff when we had a problem. It's a very new place and there is a sense of it still getting 'worn in' - but it was fine for us. Only drawback was the extortionate price of breakfast - why don't hotels like this do a 'tourist' one as well as one for those on expense accounts?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    199
    74
    24
    9
See reviews for
175
410
51
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

This hotel is right on the wharf in a very quiet location but in walking distance to lots of attractions and restaurants. It's couple of blocks from Little Italy and the Paul Revere house. I received an upgrade to a jr. suite and it was spacious and very well decorated with windows that opened to catch the nice breeze off of the water. The bathroom was one of the best I've seen. The style of the bathroom was large and quite impressive. The service was outstanding as well. Will definitely stay at this hotel again whenever visiting Boston

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

This was the first stop on our honeymoon, what better way to start it off then a water taxi ride across from the airport to our hotel where we were met with a staff that had the ultimate goal of making sure we had the most fabulous stay ever! We were surprised with a bottle of champagne, complimentary of course, and a great view from our room. We stayed in the Fairmont Gold building, Sarah Josepha Hale building, and were treated like royalty from the moment we walked through the doors. We are not used to this sort of treatment, so we were wowed from minute one. The breakfast, appetizer and dessert/cocktail hours served the most amazing food; very high class and delicious! My favorite was the boston cream pie with an espressotini the night of our arrival before heading out to little Italy to check out the nightlife. I cannot give enough kudos to the staff at the Fairmont Battery Wharf, Gold! It was a more expensive stay for us than normal, but we would save up and to it all over again in a heartbeat as it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf for three days before our 7-day New England / Canadian cruise aboard Royal Caribbean International's Jewel of the Seas. When we returned from our cruise, we stayed one additional night before heading back home. First of all, the service at the Fairmont was top notch, truly five-star quality. The rooms were very nicely furnished and modern with great views of the harbor. The location very convenient and very close to "Little Italy," which has over 100+ great Italian restaurants. Tons of history to see near the hotel, including the "Freedom Trail." I also loved its close proximity to the water, which offered a great location for peaceful walks on the boardwalk.

My only complaint with the hotel was poor sound insulation. We could clearly hear people in the adjoining rooms through the walls. The doors to the rooms were exceptionally poor. It seemed that every voice or door closing/opening could be clearly heard from the hallway.

Other than that, I would still stay at the Fairmont on our next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, it was so beautiful. Our King Suite was extra nice, the rainfall shower is awesome. Everyone is so kind and helpful. The bed is sooooo comfortable. Beauty awaits you here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Fairmont and had a great time! The room was spectacular, the bed extremely comfy and we had an excellent view of the water! The staff at the front desk where extremely helpful in helping us get around town and suggest great restaurants. They were always very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. We took the ferry from the airport, which took you right to the hotel (the bus to the ferry took 30 min.!) The ride to the hotel was enjoyable with nice views. The room was decorated well. One of the people on here complained about the pocket doors to the bathroom, but there are also glass doors to the toilet and it's private enough. Front desk was very helpful. Loved the area on the water to watch boats. Short walk to any restaurants and shops. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: Three Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#18 Business Hotel in Boston
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.