We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Battery Wharf

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Battery Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Battery Wharf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olney, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

GREAT location; beautiful waterfront by the North End Italian restaurants. Very good service (knowledgeable front desk folks; no separate concierge). Beautiful hotel (2 separate buildings), trendy, well-laid out rooms and large lovely bathroom. Comfy beds. The Nespresso machine made such delicious espressos that we came home and bought one. Large well-equipped gym in adjacent building. Constructive criticism? Some scratches in wood door/furniture. The hotel offered reasonable discounts on rates. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    156
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
142
335
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was a major disappointment. The decor was meh. The sheets were like sandpaper. I could hear the doors of other rooms slamming shut during the night.
Good location near little Italy.
For the price, there are better hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Battery Wharf, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. While I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our waterfront location, I’m sorry you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. I would like to assure you that I’ve shared your comments with our Director of Rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback and I hope you will consider giving us another chance to “wow” you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having traveled to Boston for leisure many times, I decided to use the Hot Wire service to book a hotel as I had heard great things about choices provided. One of the 5 Star Hotels suggested was the Fairmont Battery Wharf, and once I saw that I was so excited because the Fairmont has such an excellent reputation world wide. Unfortunately, my experience was anything but 5 Star.

The first night I arrived, my daughter valeted parked her car. She lost the valet ticket and they were all up in arms about, as if it has never happened before.

The room accommodations were something out of the 1970s- very ugly, dated, and TINY.

One evening, when needing ice- was told by the front desk there would be a 35-40 minute wait. Let me add that ice machines are not provided on the guest floors... how inconvenient.

The overall staff enthusiasm was atrocious. They all were very upset about having to do their jobs. Any request seemed to aggravate and annoy them.

The only redeeming quality of this hotel is the proximity to the North End and downtown.

I would NEVER stay here again and I would NEVER recommend someone stay here. I would have been mortified if I had to pay full price for this room and not booked via Hot Wire.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Battery Wharf, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Jim, and thank you for your post. I’m very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your recent stay. You are correct in pointing out that we do not have ice machines on the guest floors – I can see how this could be an inconvenience and I will make sure this feedback is shared with our hotel’s leadership team to further assess. I’m disappointed that you felt my colleagues were not helpful – This is unacceptable. We can, and will, do better. Thank you, again, for comments, and I hope you’ll consider giving us another chance on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For the price, this was one of my worst so-called five star hotel stays ever. I have been to Boston many times and usually stay around Back Bay or the Downtown areas. As this was a leisure trip I decided to try something different. Never again!

After you have travelled for 36 hours and arrive at 1am, all you want is a bit of service and a quiet comfortable room to sleep in.

When we arrived we were the only customers within miles yet the porter evinced no interest in us in the slightest until we had lifted our own bags out of the trunk of our cab and were half way in the door. On check in we were given "a beautiful room with a queen bed". If only.

First thing we noticed was the heat, it was stifling. Then the smell, as if there was a gas leak but with no gas. Finally there was the bed, maybe it was fit for a queen but there were two of us.  I really dont know what passses for a queen sized bed in Boston, but you would have to be pygmies to sleep two people comfortably in that bed.

Changing rooms, even though the place was over half empty, was no easy matter, but we did eventually get there. If we had previously had the worst room in the house, this must have been the second worst. It was again stiflingly hot, directly above the entrance, with a rattling aircon, but at least a King sized bed.

The aircon only wanted to rattle and had no interest in actually cooling the room. We could at least open windows, although that did mean listening to the porter directly below us and his inane late night conversations on his cell phone.

Look, some of the day time staff were great, Little Italy was a good place to eat etc, but I would never, ever stay here again! And I suggest that you don't either.

Room Tip: Somewhere else in Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Battery Wharf, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to point out that the gentlemen outside are not porters, but a valet service operated by an outside vendor – that said, I do apologize that you were not assisted with your luggage. As it is winter here in Boston, we do of course turn the heat on in our guest rooms – I’m very sorry that this caused you discomfort as our intention was the opposite. I have shared your post with our Director of Rooms so we can thoroughly review our procedures here. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a couple nights here & were amazed that we heard crickets at night! Felt like we were in the woods rather than the waterfront in Boston! Wonderful bed, (& bedding), good location (& yet quiet!) excellent gym/spa facility & super friendly staff. About 10 min walk to the heart if the waterfront district and closer yet to Little Italy...just a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I think this location was great. We were 5 minutes from the Aquarium, Fanueil Hall/Quincy Market, Rose Kennedy Greenway and the Ferry to the Harbor Islands. The room was excellent and had a nice harbor view. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not a usual hotel. I asked for a high floor and I was told that everything above the second floor is apartments, not hotel rooms. The sea view is mediocre, at best. You see part of it, from a side. I asked for a different room and was offered a suite at an extra $100 a night, which I passed. A few minutes later I remembered I had some President's club coupons for a suite upgrade. So I returned to the front desk only to be told that there are no suites available! In addition, I could never use the complimentary car service although the car was always available. How about waiting each morning for 10-15min to get a cab? What about having the doorman offer you a ride on a private car (at a greater cost) instead of calling for a cab, which was waiting across the corner.
Also, the gym is in a different building. Regarding the wifi, I had to reregister my devices every couple of hours. Also, one of the nights, I found the new bathroom towel to be soiled. Finally, the place is away from the good part of the city (Copley square area); you can't go far on foot; you end up spending a lot of money on cab fares. Having said all that, the room was great.

In my experience, there are much better places in Boston.

Room Tip: Not worth paying for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Battery Wharf, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your post. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied by your recent stay – In particular, I’d like to apologize for the miscommunication you experienced regarding an upgrade. It is also unacceptable that you were not assisted in making car arrangements. I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager as I think your feedback represents a valuable training opportunity for our colleagues. Again, I’m sorry that we missed the mark during your stay, but I do hope you’ll give us another chance to exceed your expectations on your next visit to Boston. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Battery Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Battery Wharf

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Battery Wharf 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Battery Wharf is the only boutique hotel located on Boston Harbor in downtown Boston. This sophisticated, urban, waterfront retreat is surrounded by unique shopping, fine dining, spectacular coastal views, and the rich historical setting of downtown Boston. The hotel is walking distance to Boston’s Italian North End, financial district, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, and TD Garden - New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. New Exhale Spa and Aragosta Bar and Bistro now open!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Battery Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Battery Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.