We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont lives up to its reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Battery Wharf

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Battery Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Battery Wharf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fairmont lives up to its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in June. We stayed in the Gold Building, so had free breakfasts and free tapas in the late afternoons. Both were delicious, with a range of items and of good quality.
This was our first trip to Boston and I hesitated to book this hotel, wondering if it was too out of the way. But I loved it! The North End was a fun neighbourhood to wander and it was always buzzing with people. It was easily walkable for us to downtown and Boston Common, amongst other places. And I enjoyed being on the water - walking along the waterfront and the piers.
Our room was a suite - it seemed slightly small for a suite, but was very well-appointed. We had a partial water view and a balcony - although it was too hot to sit out there for very long when we went.
We used the hotel's free bikes a couple of times. What a fabulous way to see so much of the city! We biked along the waterfront and to South Boston and also along the Charles River and over to MIT. We bought a cheap bike lock because the hotel doesn't supply locks and we grabbed a bike map from nearby Urban Adventures.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    155
    59
    20
    8
See reviews for
137
327
45
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The entire stay was excellent. The Presidential Suite was spacious, well finished and exceptionally maintained. The front desk and concierge were of tremendous service and insured that our expectations were fully met. The courtesy BMW vehicle service to near-by venues was great.

The only noise we heard was that of passing pleasure boats, charters and seagulls if you opened the windows on any of the three sides with water views. Quiet pleasant and relaxing. The private terrace was tremendous and offered expansive views of Boston Harbor, the waterfront as well as Charlestown and other nearby areas.

The potential cost of internet service was unheard of in this day and age of free Wi-Fi but the cost was removed by simply joining the Fairmont Presidents Club. The room service generally excellent but pricey as would be expected at a five star hotel. The only issue encountered was with a room service breakfast that, for $80, was delivered late and cold. Without the ability to reheat the meal, the breakfast was sub-par.

The locale of the hotel was perfect for visiting downtown Boston, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, The North End and other waterfront destinations and venues.

Room Tip: Water-front suites and rooms are most desirable. Insure that you request harbor view. The direct wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Make sure to sign up for Fairmont's Pressident's Club loyalty program either before you arrive or at check in to get free Internet access, otherwise it is $12.95 a day. This property compares nicely to other Fairmont Hotels in terms of high level of service and excellent room furnishings and amenities. It is a bit more charming and 'boutique-like' due to its layout. It is really four separate smaller buildings that have been retrofitted into this 150 room luxury hotel unit. We were upgraded on arrival to a Deluxe Harbor view room. The beds were extremely comfortable with luxurious linens. The bathroom was richly decorated with marble and granite and separate full sized bath and shower with excellent toiletries. We had a bit of a learning curve with the Nespresso machine and made quite a mess before figuring it all out. The end result was great coffee so we were happy. The location on the harbor at the north end was excellent for the sightseeing we wanted to do. Our stay was brief so we did not get to try out the spa or restaurants. Would I return to this hotel? Absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've stayed at more places than I can remember, but never had such wonderful service and great room as I did here. Room was modern, full of amenties, great bathroom with large walk in shower. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Waterfront was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location is excellent: a very short walk from the wonderful Italian district of the North End, yet away from any main roads and on the waterfront.

Away from all traffic, this hotel is very peaceful, apart from the slamming of doors in the corridor. The rooms are all very close to one another (as in any hotel), and the doors slam very loudly, and noise travels easily down the corridor. When this isn't happening, the rooms are wonderfully quiet.

Service and cleanliness were excellent, and the room very comfortable and well appointed. A nice bonus was the entertainment system and the cables provided to plug in your music player to the TV and bathroom speakers.

We took the cheapest category of room, for which we got a ground floor room with a view of the courtyard and the bushes outside the window. Not a great deal of natural light, but perfectly fine for a short trip.

Make sure you get the water taxi from the airport (Shuttle 66 to the dock then $10 per person).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The fairmont is part of the battery wharf development. you get breathtaking views of teh Boston Harbor with all the sights and sounds. The hotel is luxurious and clean, the rooms are well equipped and quiet. The location in the North End is just a stones throw away from all the Italian cuisine of the North end.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

al the staff was great, from checking in to check out...nice room with a view, walking distance to quincy market, downtown, and little Italy district ( one block away).Will definitely go back when in Boston...food is good also at the restaurant.

Room Tip: third floor and above they have balconies...there are 4 buildings in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Battery Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Battery Wharf

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Battery Wharf 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Battery Wharf is the only boutique hotel located on Boston Harbor in downtown Boston. This sophisticated, urban, waterfront retreat is surrounded by unique shopping, fine dining, spectacular coastal views, and the rich historical setting of downtown Boston. The hotel is walking distance to Boston’s Italian North End, financial district, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, and TD Garden - New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. New Exhale Spa and Aragosta Bar and Bistro now open!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Battery Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Battery Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.